HICCAPUFF HEATS UP CHRISTMAS – Susanna L. Hill’s 3rd Annual Holiday Contest

9 Dec
12-09-2013-winter-wonderland

Image- whistlerblackcomb.com

Happy Holidays!

It’s the most wonderful time of the year! Folks are shopping and baking and trimming the tree. Me, I’m still in my PJ’s in the afternoon posting my entry for Susanna Leonard Hill’s 3rd Holiday Contest!

This year’s theme is to “Write a children’s story about a Holiday Mishap, mix-up, miscommunication, mistake, or potential disaster (a la Grandma Got Run Over By A Reindeer :)).  Your story may be poetry or prose, silly or serious or sweet, religious or not, based on Christmas, Hanukkah, Kwanzaa or whatever you celebrate, but is not to exceed 350 words not counting the title.” 

So grab a cup of hot cocoa. I hope you enjoy my story…..

HICCAPUFF HEATS UP CHRISTMAS

Everyone in Christmastown buzzed with excitement. Everyone except Hiccapuff. A dragon with hiccups does his best to stay out of the way.

It was Christmas Eve, and Santa was ready for lift-off, but his nine famous reindeer weren’t. They were stricken with the rare reindeer sickness, SleepThroughChristmasItis. Santa’s reindeer were grounded!

“I’ll fly your sleigh, Santa!” shy Hiccapuff volunteered.

“You’re nothin’ but trouble, dragon,” snorted Jingle Elf, Santa’s pilot.

Hiccapuff nervously HICC-A-PUFFED, and torched a snowman.

Jingle rolled his eyes, “See what I mean!”

“He’s our only hope. Let’s fly!” shouted Santa.

WHOOSH. Santa flew down a chimney.

“HICC-A-PUFF!”

Jingle’s pants lit up! “OOH, HOT, HOT, HOT!” He scooted his butt through the snow. “Aim ‘em somewhere else!”

Poor Hiccapuff hung his head and hiccupped off the ledge.

“He almost fried me, Santa!” Jingle complained.

“He cleared the streets of snow,” Santa smiled.

But Jingle’s grumbles were all Hiccapuff heard.

As they glided over the ocean, Hiccapuff noticed sad faces watching them pass.

“Ignore them, Hiccapuff,” Jingle snapped.

Instead, he HICCED some PUFFS, rocked the sleigh, and scattered tons of presents.

Eyeglasses settled on Old Whale’s nose. Octopus slid eight slippers on his tootsies. And Dolphin twirled in his tutu!

“You’ve wasted gifts! You’re nothin’ but…”

Santa interrupted, “Hush, there’s work to do.”

Hiccapuff thought Santa was disappointed in him. But Santa realized that the sea creatures should have been on his gift list all along.

They finished delivering presents, and as they soared home through the Milky Way, BOOM, BING, BANG…asteroids blasted the sleigh! Brave Hiccapuff mightily torched them to smithereens! But he got hurt, and the sleigh fell into the sea.

Santa and Jingle awoke in Christmastown. Dolphin and Octopus had towed them home. Old Whale swam poor Hiccapuff to shore on his broad back.

Everyone cheered when Hiccapuff opened his eyes. “Hiccapuff, you saved Christmas and us!” Santa exclaimed.

“I’m sorry I doubted you, buddy,” said Jingle.

The sleepy dragon sighed a happy HICC-A-PUFF… and almost singed off Santa’s beard!

“No worries, Santa. I found my aim tonight!”

Image- Mozartschildren.wordpress.com

If you’re in a gift-giving mood, would you please copy this link and put it on your calendars to vote (just once) for HICCAPUFF HEATS UP CHRISTMAS? Visit Susanna’s blog any time between Monday 12/16 and Wednesday 12/18 by 5 pm EST. You would help this girl have one very happy holiday!

Here’s wishing you and yours a healthy and happy holiday season!

Image- fotosearch

Image- fotosearch

68 Responses to “HICCAPUFF HEATS UP CHRISTMAS – Susanna L. Hill’s 3rd Annual Holiday Contest”

  1. cherylsec December 9, 2013 at 5:11 pm #

    Donna, I had to read this once I saw the title and the delightful name of Hiccapuff. :-) What a wonderful story. It’s so imaginative! I love the idea of a dragon with hiccups helping Santa out. How fun to include the sea creatures, too. Great story! Well done.

    • Donna L. Sadd December 9, 2013 at 5:17 pm #

      Thanks so much for your lovely, kind comment, Cheryl. You made my day! :0)

  2. Cindy Schrauben December 9, 2013 at 6:24 pm #

    Nice job, Donna. The illustrations will be great on this one. Good luck!

    • Donna L. Sadd December 9, 2013 at 6:36 pm #

      Thank you, Cindy! When I think of illustrations, I always go to the eyeglasses settled on Old Whale’s nose. ;0)

  3. Elaine Kiely Kearns December 9, 2013 at 6:29 pm #

    I love it, Donna! So imaginative! Lots of luck to you! :)

    • Donna L. Sadd December 9, 2013 at 6:38 pm #

      Thanks, Elaine, and the same to you. Have a very Happy Holiday Season! :0)

  4. teresarobeson December 9, 2013 at 6:40 pm #

    Outta this world, Donna! You brought together many of my favorite things: dragon, sea creatures, outer space! Love it!

    • Donna L. Sadd December 9, 2013 at 7:04 pm #

      Thanks, Teresa! After reading your story, I searched our Christmas tree, hoping to find a tiny family cozied up. No dice, but I’ve got enough critters as it is! Happy Holidays! :0)

  5. Aria Glazki December 9, 2013 at 7:19 pm #

    How adorable! You should have this illustrated :)

    • Donna L. Sadd December 9, 2013 at 8:01 pm #

      Thanks, Aria. Sheesh, I know we’ve both had a wacky, crazy month, but I appreciate your popping in, Girlfriend! :0)

    • Aria Glazki December 9, 2013 at 9:17 pm #

      Oh my goodness, what an understatement! But my pleasure :)

  6. Christine M. Irvin December 9, 2013 at 7:22 pm #

    A dragon pulling Santa’s sleigh! I would never have thought of that!

    • Donna L. Sadd December 9, 2013 at 8:04 pm #

      I’m constantly surprised at what pops out of my head, Christine. PiBoIdMo has me going overtime, I think. Thanks for popping in and have a very Happy Holiday! :0)

  7. fuonlyknew December 9, 2013 at 9:10 pm #

    Aaww! First I laughed and then I cheered for Hickapuff! Excellent writing Donna. I could see your dragon and when the presents fell to the sea creatures I cheered. You’ve put me in a Christmas mood. Thanks so much for sharing your story and I’ll be sure to vote!

    • Donna L. Sadd December 9, 2013 at 9:15 pm #

      I’m all veklempt, Laura. Thanks for the vote of confidence and for sticking with me on my lacking blog of late. I’ve been writing my fanny off! Thanks for voting & tweeting, ’cause the prizes are to die for! :0)

      Wishing you and yours health, happiness and prosperity this holiday season.

  8. fuonlyknew December 9, 2013 at 9:11 pm #

    I second Aria. This would be such an adorable picture book!

    • Donna L. Sadd December 9, 2013 at 9:28 pm #

      From your words, to an agent’s or editor’s eyes! That’s my Christmas wish! :0)

  9. deborahholtwilliams December 9, 2013 at 9:49 pm #

    Kids love Christmas and they love dragons–this is sure to be a favorite picture book one day, Donna!

    • Donna L. Sadd December 9, 2013 at 10:01 pm #

      Your kind comment means more than you know, Deb! Thank you. :0)

  10. sherry fundin December 10, 2013 at 5:07 pm #

    This would make an excellent illustrated story. I love dragons…and the sea creatures just added more icing on the cake, or should I say snow on the trees. Hiccapuff is my hero. Wish I could have a ride. How about it Santa?

    • Donna L. Sadd December 11, 2013 at 9:15 am #

      Thanks, Sherry! If Santa lets me take Hiccapuff for a fly, we’ll come pick you up! Happy Holidays! :0)

    • sherry fundin December 13, 2013 at 7:56 am #

      Awesome. I’ll cross my fingers and toes. ^_^

  11. Carrie Finison December 10, 2013 at 9:03 pm #

    Cute! I love the name Hiccapuff. Love how you worked in dragons AND asteroids. :-)

    • Donna L. Sadd December 11, 2013 at 9:16 am #

      Thanks for your kind comment, Carrie. Happy Holidays! :0)

  12. Michelle Heidenrich Barnes December 10, 2013 at 10:54 pm #

    Delightfully fresh story with a main character who kids will LOVE. Well done.

    • Donna L. Sadd December 11, 2013 at 9:18 am #

      Thanks for popping by to read Hiccapuff, Michelle. I’m glad you liked it. Happy Holidays! :0)

  13. Cathy Ballou Mealey December 11, 2013 at 9:12 am #

    “torched them to smithereens” made me LOL!

    What a funny story Donna!

    • Donna L. Sadd December 11, 2013 at 9:22 am #

      Thanks, Kathy. I’ve got hundreds of wild birds and guinea hens, and squirrels that I feed. I was hysterical reading your story. That image of the chipmunk still finds me giggling! Happy Holidays! :0)

  14. Catherine Johnson December 11, 2013 at 2:59 pm #

    What an imaginative story. I love it well done!

    • Donna L. Sadd December 11, 2013 at 6:36 pm #

      Thanks, Catherine. I loved your story, but couldn’t find a way to comment, until now. Happy Holidays! :0)

  15. Janie Reinart December 11, 2013 at 7:48 pm #

    Yeah! Donna! Wonderful story and sooooo funny! The co-pilot elf makes me laugh when his pants catch on fire! Love that the dragon saves the day!

    • Donna L. Sadd December 12, 2013 at 3:59 pm #

      Thanks, Janie! I really appreciated your input. Happy Holidays! :0)

  16. julie rowan zoch December 11, 2013 at 11:22 pm #

    And a great name for more adventures, Donna!

    • Donna L. Sadd December 12, 2013 at 4:00 pm #

      Yes, indeedilly-do! Thanks for popping in, Julie. Happy Holidays! :0)

  17. J. Milburn December 11, 2013 at 11:49 pm #

    Creative, clever, and cute. I sympathize with the reindeer, I come down with a case of SleepThroughChristmasItis every year and have to fight through it ;) Great story!

    • Donna L. Sadd December 12, 2013 at 4:01 pm #

      Hee, hee, hee, don’t we all! Thanks for your kind comment, J. Happy Holidays! :0)

  18. lindaschueler December 12, 2013 at 8:59 am #

    Hilarious, Donna! What a unique replacement reindeer you have come up with.

    • Donna L. Sadd December 12, 2013 at 4:03 pm #

      Thanks, Linda! Happy Holidays! :0)

  19. Juliana Lee December 12, 2013 at 3:27 pm #

    Hiccapuff may be replacing Rudolph soon!

    • Donna L. Sadd December 12, 2013 at 4:04 pm #

      Thanks for popping in, Juliana. I see Hiccapuff pairing up with Rudolph, like all the others. ;0) Happy Holidays!

  20. Susanna Leonard Hill December 12, 2013 at 8:23 pm #

    What a delightful, imaginative, and original story, Donna! A dragon pulling Santa’s sleigh? Who would have thought of that??!! :) I love that Hiccapuff is kind and sweet and thoughtful – surprising qualities in a dragon :) – and that he did his best to help and ended up saving Christmas! Thanks for a very fun entry! :)

    • Donna L. Sadd December 13, 2013 at 8:22 am #

      Thank YOU for holding this contest, Susanna! It’s a joy to participate, and read all the delightful entries. Happy Holidays! :0)

  21. viviankirkfield December 13, 2013 at 10:36 am #

    Love the name…love the story…love the message! Great job, Donna. I’m so glad Hicca’s self-esteem got a well-needed boost. :)

    • Donna L. Sadd December 13, 2013 at 10:41 am #

      Thanks so much, Vivian! Happy Holidays! :0)

  22. nrhatch December 13, 2013 at 11:09 am #

    The next time I hiccup . . . I’ll think of hiccapuff. :D

    • Donna L. Sadd December 13, 2013 at 11:43 am #

      Hee hee, thanks for popping in, NR. Happy Holidays! :0)

  23. Penny Parker Klostermann December 13, 2013 at 4:43 pm #

    What a fun and imaginative story, Donna! A ton of fun. I love the name Hiccapuff! So cute.

    • Donna L. Sadd December 13, 2013 at 5:37 pm #

      Thanks, Penny! Right about now, I’m needing an Elf Emergency Button myself! :0)

  24. Tracy Campbell December 13, 2013 at 6:02 pm #

    Donna, glad I found your entry. I connected with your hiccupping dragon. Great visuals. :-)

    • Donna L. Sadd December 13, 2013 at 6:45 pm #

      Thanks for finding and enjoying it, Tracy. Just read your Charley and Ollie story and loved it too boot! :0)

  25. Robyn Campbell (@authorswrite) December 14, 2013 at 4:35 pm #

    Hey Donna!

    What a wonderful story that gave me an all around feel good, giggly feeling. I’ll remember hiccapuff for a very long time.

    • Donna L. Sadd December 14, 2013 at 5:07 pm #

      What a lovely thing to say, Robyn! Thank you! :0)

  26. clarbojahn December 14, 2013 at 6:51 pm #

    This story eats cake it s’ so yummy. :) love it.

    Merry Christmas, Donna! :)

    • Donna L. Sadd December 15, 2013 at 7:54 am #

      Ooh, cake! Thanks, Clarike! Merry Christmas :0)

  27. Martha Hubbard December 14, 2013 at 11:34 pm #

    Very imaginative story, Donna! Hiccapuff saves the day! :)

    • Donna L. Sadd December 15, 2013 at 7:55 am #

      Thanks, Martha! Happy Holidays! :0)

  28. Cecilia December 15, 2013 at 7:13 am #

    good on Hiccapuff and calm old Santa. great imagination. A fun story

    • Donna L. Sadd December 15, 2013 at 8:14 am #

      Thank you, Cecilia. I appreciate your popping in to read it. Happy Holidays! :0)

  29. Wendy Greenley December 15, 2013 at 6:24 pm #

    The name Hiccapuff is so much fun to say! Clever, Donna.

    • Donna L. Sadd December 19, 2013 at 12:39 pm #

      Thanks, Wendy! Sorry to be tardy with my reply. I changed phones and was locked out of my blog. Happy Holidays!

  30. thiskidreviewsbooks December 15, 2013 at 6:54 pm #

    Funny! I love it! :D

    • Donna L. Sadd December 19, 2013 at 12:39 pm #

      Thanks, Erik. I loved your story too!

      Sorry to be tardy with my reply. I changed phones and was locked out of my blog. Happy Holidays!

  31. angiekarcher December 15, 2013 at 8:42 pm #

    Donna,
    I love that a sleigh toting, fire-breathing, empathetic dragon saves Christmas! Very cute story!

    • Donna L. Sadd December 19, 2013 at 12:40 pm #

      Thanks for popping in, Angie!

      Sorry to be tardy with my reply. I changed phones and was locked out of my blog. Happy Holidays!

  32. Buffy Silverman December 15, 2013 at 9:52 pm #

    Love those gifts for whale, dolphin, and octopus. Clever tale!

    • Donna L. Sadd December 19, 2013 at 12:40 pm #

      Thanks for reading it, Buffy!

      Sorry to be tardy with my reply. I changed phones and was locked out of my blog. Happy Holidays!

  33. jakesprinter December 21, 2013 at 5:02 pm #

    Great Article Thanks for sharing ,Donna

    • Donna L. Sadd January 4, 2014 at 8:11 am #

      Thanks for popping in to read it, Jake. :0)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,852 other followers

