The Getting To Know Me Post #1 – Meet Some of the Loves of My Life

25 Feb

Hi Gang!

I’m so new to this blogging thingy that I have not posted of late because, quite frankly, I’ve been a CHICKEN! I started the blog because that is what one does, so they say, when one wants to sell a book. My book is LUCCI THE NO SMOOCHIE POOCHIE, a print and eBook young children’s story, but now what?

All of a sudden I thought I had to come up with brilliant adages about the art of writing and the thought of coming across as something I’m not  literally froze me to doing nothing! Gee whiz, I have moments of brilliance but they are few and far between.

I’m new to the writing game but I’m not so new at other things like animal love, cooking, baking and D.I.Y. projects of all sorts. So instead of hiding out being afraid to blog out into the atmosphere, I’m just going to take this one step at a time and put bits and pieces of me out there.

Hopefully, you will bear with me and like my blog and if you’re an animal lover please stick around because I’m absolutely nuts about ’em, live for them and already foresee my posts including them all the time.

Today I’m introducing you to Daisy, Dixie and Dot. They’re my outdoor babies and they will all be turning 3 years old in  March. My hubby Robert and I moved to beautiful Central Texas Hill Country from South Florida almost 4 years ago, and my dream was to have ‘livestock’ which to me meant finally having the chance to raise bigger pets with huge ‘muffers’ to kiss (noses/pusses).

Of yet, we don’t have the space for cows and horses, which could be changing any day now (keep your fingers crossed), so I started off by adopting 3 bottle baby Boer goats. Daisy was a few days short of being 1 month old; Dotty was 2 weeks old and little Dixie was only 10 days old when we made them our own.

When you have “bottle babies” you’ve just signed up for feedings every 3 hours throughout the day, everyday for a good 3 months. I ate, slept and breathed only for my “Goatee Girls.”

That was then; this is now:

My absolute favorite blog is Ree Drummond’s Confessions of a Pioneer Woman . I discovered her on “The View” a thousand years ago when she presented fabulous food, talked about the monumental task of  leaving the ranch to “go to town to stock up on supplies once a month,'” and had a big lovable group of  livestock to smooch (I don’t know whether she has that penchant but I do). I saw myself in her. My life in the country is on a smidgen of the scale but I still relate because I’m a home chef, am married to my own handsome Marlboro man…

have the beginnings of livestock…

and I’ve always loved and had a big ‘ol basset hound in my life!

This is Star, AKA Maybelline, Barbara, Queen of the House…one of the three beautiful barking loves of my life. Stay tuned for the rest of my nutty pack.

Thanks way in advance for sticking with me and enjoy the rest of your week.

4 Responses to “The Getting To Know Me Post #1 – Meet Some of the Loves of My Life”

  1. becomingcliche February 25, 2012 at 7:33 pm #

    Good luck with your book sales!

    • Donna L. Sadd February 26, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by! Love your blog.

  2. Claudia Daniels March 9, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

    I already know about your nutty pack and am still looking forward to reading more! Also looking forward to that next book…blog on my wiley writer friend…just do what comes naturally you’ve got this!!!!

Leave a Reply

