The Guest Who Came to Visit…and Never Left

30 Mar

Hi Gang!

Sally, the Red-ear slider turtle, wasn’t chosen to be a member of my family. I had only agreed to turtle-sit her while my neighbors went on vacation but that was years ago.  Grab a cuppa coffee; this is a good one.

My neighbor Andrea lived across the street from us in Pompano Beach, Florida. Andrea was a stay-at-home mom to young twin monsters I mean boys and I worked from home. Almost every afternoon she’d walk over with wine glass in hand and we’d dish the dirt. Actually, she’d dish the dirt and I listened with mouth agape while I prepped dinner. She was a walking Hedda Hopper of neighborhood gossip, and I always wondered how in the world did she get her information.

So, Andrea walked over one day right before the 2006 holidays to tell me about their upcoming family trip to Mexico and asked me if I would watch Sally, the boys’ new pet turtle. She knew the turtle would be fine in my menagerie house of 4 dogs, Frank The Bird,  and 4 foster kittens.

She brought over the 2-inch round little thing in a small 5-gallon tank that held a rock, a heat lamp and about 3 inches of water. Gee, when I had turtles as a kid we just kept them in those little plastic dishes with the fake plastic palm trees. I put Sally’s fancy tank on the kitchen counter which was supposedly a no-no in the real world but my kitchen was the hub of activity and I wanted to do a good job of turtle-sitting for my friend.

Sally was cute and would spend her days sitting on the rock under the heat lamp and taking dips in the water. She was no trouble at all really and her 2 week stay was uneventful.

The holidays came and went and Andrea and her family arrived home from their trip and she stopped by. I asked if she came to pick up Sally. She just gave me a crooked smile and said, “Well, I was wondering if you could keep her a little while longer while we do the addition to the house.”

“How long’s that gonna take?”

“Only a couple of weeks,” she replied. (We know how that story goes…if one is told it will take weeks to complete a job; that translates to months!) Caring for Sally was easy so I agreed to keep her.

Weeks passed, and Andrea escaped to my house to get out of the mess at hers. Months passed and Andrea continued to seek refuge at my house. I felt as if she had moved in too but she always kept me in stitches so I didn’t mind at all.

Fast forward to the straw that broke the camel’s back. Andrea’s addition looked terrific, the work was finally finished and she’s sitting at my counter sipping wine and dishing the dirt.

I asked her,”Aren’t you going to say hello to Sally?” I swear she just looked at me blankly and said, “Sally who?”

“Sally who?” I point to the turtle in the tank on my counter who had actually grown in size since she first arrived, and exclaimed, “That’s it; I’m keeping her!” Andrea was fine with that and said, “Good, my boys would probably kill her anyway.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After Sally never left I learned that I was doing things all wrong. That she was aquatic, meaning she needed a larger tank full of water, a place to dry out her shell, and a heat and UV lamp, which replicates sunlight and helps metabolize vitamins. I joined an online turtle group and then truly began caring for Sally properly. I constructed a basking ramp and started feeding her tiny rosy red fish and veggies too. It figures that her favorite would be fresh basil at what, $3 a bunch! Did you know that turtles need water to swallow their food?

Today Sally is still in my kitchen but she’s now in Texas, is 9″ round, is in a large 75 gallon tank, has 2 very expensive filters and gets hand-fed fresh shrimp, clams, tuna fish and 50 rosy red fish every Saturday. I think she’s happy!

Have a terrific weekend everyone and give those furry, or shell-y kids of yours lots of smoochies… or at least smiles! Speaking of smoochies, have you read LUCCI to the kids in your life yet? Get it in print and they can read it over and over again!

P.S. I’ve got a lot of family cooking videos up on YouTube and there’s a funny one that I filmed of my mother and my nieces making fresh pasta for New Year’s Eve dinner that year, and Sally’s tiny tank is the background.  Check it out if you have the time or inclination: http://youtu.be/BzdRJUbDF30 . Warning, I’m a bit obnoxious in it:)

14 Responses to “The Guest Who Came to Visit…and Never Left”

  1. Claudia Daniels March 30, 2012 at 3:48 pm #

    Fabulous story…I don’t think I ever asked how you ended up with Sally. Seems like she has always been apart of the family!

    • Donna L. Sadd March 30, 2012 at 5:31 pm #

      Truth is Claudia, I always secretly hoped Andrea would let me keep her because her 7-year old terrors really would have hurt her…even if unintentionally. 🙂

  2. Fassadengerüste March 30, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

    You are so cool! I do not think I’ve read a single thing like that before. So good to discover someone with some genuine thoughts on this subject. Really.. many thanks for starting this up. This site is one thing that is needed on the web, someone with some originality!

    • Donna L. Sadd March 30, 2012 at 7:46 pm #

      Fassadenger, You can’t see me but I am dancing a jig, and that’s after picking myself up off the floor from reading your unbelievable comment! Thank you so much. Let me ask you two things; first, are you really serious? 2) I clicked on your name to find that you’re German (I’m half German on my dad’s side & my grandparent were Oma & Opa.) Do you speak English or is the blog translated…just curious to know. You made my day, week & month; thank you for taking the time to comment! how did you find my blog?

  3. taxi dispatch April 6, 2012 at 12:54 am #

    Excellent post. Keep posting such kind of info on your page.
    Im really impressed by your blog. Thanks for sharing your thoughts about transportation.
    Regards

    • Donna L. Sadd April 6, 2012 at 9:20 am #

      Thanks for taking the time to post your lovely compliment. Keep on reading! Transportation?

  4. Upload My Video April 19, 2012 at 1:32 am #

    Normally I do not read post on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very pressured me to try and do it! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thank you, very great article.

    • Donna L. Sadd April 19, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

      Thank you very much; it was sweet of you to write!

  5. Jeanette March 14, 2013 at 3:56 pm #

    Good day I am so excited I found your blog, I really found you by mistake, while
    I was researching on Yahoo for something else, Nonetheless I
    am here now and would just like to say thanks for a
    fantastic post and a all round thrilling blog (I
    also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to
    go through it all at the moment but I have saved it and also added in
    your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep
    up the awesome work.

    • Donna L. Sadd March 14, 2013 at 4:11 pm #

      Thanks for your kind words Jeanette; stop in anytime! :0)

  6. airports March 26, 2013 at 6:54 pm #

    Hey there I am so glad I found your blog page, I really found you by accident, while I was searching
    on Google for something else, Anyhow I am here now and
    would just like to say thanks a lot for a fantastic post and a all
    round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the great job.

  7. Orlando Chiropractor June 23, 2013 at 6:38 pm #

    I’ve been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or weblog posts in this sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this site. Studying this info So i’m happy to
    exhibit that I’ve an incredibly excellent uncanny feeling I came upon just what I needed. I such a lot without a doubt will make sure to do not forget this site and provides it a look on a constant basis.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I Don’t Get it! LOL « Ralphie´s Portal - April 1, 2012

    […] The Guest Who Came to Visit…and Never Left (donnalsadd.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Pet Turtle Care: The Basics That Should Be Kept in Mind by Pet Care 360 - April 8, 2012

    […] The Guest Who Came to Visit…and Never Left(donnalsadd.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

