Club-Content Contest Winner of a Post About Mom!!- In The Valley With Mom

25 Apr

Hi Gang,

Last week on my blog you saw a contest post entry from a fellow member of Club-Content!, a group of bloggers helping bloggers improve and post quality content on their blogs. My entry was posted on another member’s blog,  for consideration in “A Contest About Your Mom.”

Guess what? I won it; I won my first writing contest as a new author and received a cash prize too-boot! It was a humbling experience as my mom came through for me again. Please read on…..

My Mom

IN THE VALLEY WITH MOM-

My brother called me in the middle of a sunny September day last year to tell me that my mother passed away. I was 1400 miles away but it felt like I was on the Moon.

It was a sudden thing; she wasn’t ill. It stopped my world; it didn’t spin. I blinked and my mother was gone.

We mobilized; got to Florida; experienced sorrow mixed with wonderful, laughable, tear-filled recollections of my mom with close family; then returned home. I was empty and lost.

Mom hadn’t wanted my husband and I and our pet-clan moving far away to Texas in 2008 but she respected our decision. The distance didn’t hurt our relationship; in fact it got better and we maintained our daily phone call ritual but usually spoke more than once because we had to tell each other everything!

There’s a valley behind our house where every morning I walk my dogs and goats down to get exercise and greens and I immerse myself in quiet nature. It’s beautiful and peaceful and quiet there, and this is when I’d give my mother a call. My mom was pretty much a control freak most of my life and had an opinion about everything I did; so what else was new. But in the valley we spoke in a way that was a lot kinder and equal and we became closer than we ever were.

Valley Girls

We were finally friends and I actually looked forward to our ‘morning valley talks.’

Over the fall and winter since she passed, the trees became bare, cold skeletons and I didn’t take the animals down to the valley. I walked down alone. I had only one message of hers on my phone and I’d call it countless times to hear her voice. She didn’t close with her usual “Love you” but it was her voice just the same.

Imagine my malaise when I recently upgraded my phone to realize that her voice would be lost to me forever.

Valley Dogs

Spring has arrived and my world has slowly started to spin again. We’ve all begun walking down to the valley every morning. When we get to a spot I call ‘Serenity Circle’ I whisper, “Good Morning God. Good Morning Mom,” and with that, without fail, a full on energized, fabulous breeze hits each and every leaf on the trees and it fills me up and makes me smile.

God is with me. Mom is with me. I am not alone.

My Mom

**On a Happier note: I realized that my mother’s voice is not lost to me because I have videos! Here’s one with her that makes me laugh…something I haven’t felt like doing while writing this post!

Making Grandma’s (Mom’s) Cassata Cake

**If your looking for insight into writing good content and attracting followers of your blog  why not visit Club-Content now!

2 Responses to “Club-Content Contest Winner of a Post About Mom!!- In The Valley With Mom”

  1. Kathy April 25, 2012 at 8:59 am #

    Donna I am thrilled to hear that you won! I bet your mom would be thrilled too!

    What a beautiful piece Donna. You had me the whole way. It is also a poignant message to me since I find it so easy to take the time I have with my mother for granted. It’s so easy to let the silly things our moms say annoy us, that it’s easy to forget that one day I would give anything to be bugged one more time from her. Thank you for reminding me.

    You had me in tears when you spoke about your one remaining message and the pain of loosing it. Really lovely essay.

    Again, I’m so happy for you. What a cool essay to win your first contest with! Much love!

    • Donna L. Sadd April 25, 2012 at 4:53 pm #

      Mom certainly pushed me through this one Kathy. It was very hard/easy at the same time to write. Sure, it still is very new to be without her but remembering our morning talks and how far we had traveled as mother and daughter to finally arrive at a good place left me at a peaceful, contented place…if that makes any sense. Hang on to and appreciate your mother every day, even as she ‘bugs’ you. Lives change in an instant and that is what is truly hard to wrap one’s head around. As always Kathy, thanks for commenting! 😉

Leave a Reply

