I Need My Writing Space!

25 May

They say to be true and honest on one’s blog, so today I’m venting Gang.

This was my home office in Florida:

This is now my office in Texas:

I Want My Desk Back

Ever since publishing LUCCI in January, my so-called ‘writing space’ has consisted of a measly corner in the den with a beat up recliner, a laptop perched on a bar stool, a rickety old TV tray (sometimes 2 when pages are all over the place), and my always-present doxi dog Luca. Oh, and a printer. ..a dang printer in the main room of my house!

I sit on the edge of the seat because Luca’s always sprawled out. Look harder, he’s there alright along with his toys. Zeetz, the cat, looks harmless enough but that knucklehead enjoys clawing at my head when he’s bored. Oh, then it gets worse when both Luca and Star hog the spot and they leave me maybe two inches of tush space…if I’m lucky. No wonder my back hurts and I hobble around  bitching and moaning half the day.

I really have been upset about not having a proper space in which to write. It has affected my attitude and as a result, I know that I don’t accomplish as much as I should. As a new author, I already feel overwhelmed with Twitter, Facebook and blogging that this not-having-a-place-of-my-own situation certainly is the main culprit.

It’s been nagging at me for a while and a few weeks ago I finally realized that I could sacrifice our rarely used guest room to make my office. Here lies the rub. I reluctantly talked to Handsome Cowboy about it and it’s not that he really cares one way or another about decorating but getting him to move anything (like the garbage, heavy dog food bags, a goat, more garbage), nevertheless a piece of furniture, is a monumental pain in the arse to have done!

I finally mobilized him one recent weekend morning and we got rid of the king bed. Suddenly the room frees up. What goes in its place? A  cute albeit SMALL vintage table that once held the printer in HC’s office that’s now in the main room of my house! It measures a measly 2 x 3 feet.  I can’t even leave a cup of coffee and a pen once the laptop claims its space.

And the chair? Though it’s pretty on the surface, I equate the comfort of that chair to one a ‘Dead Man Walking’ inmate sits on minutes before! Believe it or not, Luca just has to sit behind Mamma so, once again, I’m at the edge of my seat.

I Want My Desk Back

(For Pete’s sake, it’s time for window treatments too.)

I’ve been searching Craig’s List for a desk and a big leather executive chair because, naturally, it’s got to fit at least two or three. In the meantime, this is what my ‘assistants’ have:

I have only come across cold Formica computer desks or rickety beat up junkers or new beauties that cost an arm and a leg that really aren’t my style anyway.

My thoughts harken back to when I worked in hotel and office asset liquidation sales back in Florida, and I had gotten my mitts on a fabulous, buttery, mid-century modern turquoise leather executive chair. I only wish I had it now, as it would have easy fit my assistants and me.

Yep, my style is mid-century modern which hardly works out here in Texas Hill Country; however,  it brings me the comfort I felt as a happy child and it’s what I want in my office still. In getting back in touch with those feelings , it suddenly hit me like a ton of bricks, my desk is right here in my house! Son-of-a-gun.

Here is where I find my baby now…in H.C.’s office…covered with junk and he’s also usurped my Steelcase chair!

Why on Earth should I have to try to look for office furniture when my own is right here?

Wish me luck Gang; I’m off to find replacements for my hubby’s office ’cause I’m creating a new writing space with the things that are already near and dear to me. Oh boy, the sh-t’s gonna hit the fan!

Oh, I did not want to neglect mentioning that discovered a wonderful book review blog called Have You Heard My Book Review and a sweet soul Melanie Carrico (@kissablysweet1), who gave LUCCI another 5-star review. Melanie’s reviews are clear, to the point and extremely entertaining to read. Please follow her blog, and tell her I sent you.

Here’s to taking quiet moments this weekend to remember our family members, friends and total strangers who have given their lives to protect ours. God Bless the U.S.A.!

9 Responses to “I Need My Writing Space!”

  1. Kathy Radigan May 25, 2012 at 8:40 pm #

    I’m glad you will soon have a space for you and your assistants!! My office is our bedroom in the corner with my grandmothers desk and a few of my favorite things. My husband has the real office in the house and though it’s a great space I really enjoy my corner with my things, at least for now!! Hope you have a great weekend!!

    • Donna L. Sadd May 26, 2012 at 8:22 am #

      Hi Kathy, at least you feel comfortable and that’s all I’m looking for really. I think I feel worse because I’m not getting the help I need to do it! there’s a lot of garage sales this weekend so I’m hoping I’ll luck out on finding a desk AND getting my hubby rearrange furniture.

      You wont believe it but I just finished reading your post from from the Joe Shopping link. I’m happy to hear that you’re comfortable in your skin. It sounds like you’ve really been through a lot but gained super wisdom. I’ll go and leave a comment there now. Thanks for stopping over Kathy! :0)

  2. Gerri Bowen May 26, 2012 at 6:06 pm #

    I hope you get the office furniture situation straightened out soon, Donna. Having your own space to write and spread out is important.

    • Donna L. Sadd May 27, 2012 at 9:20 am #

      Thanks for stopping by Gerri. We’ve been doing garage sales all weekend to find a desk; hopefully, today will be the day! Enjoy your holiday weekend.

  3. honestindiebookreviews May 29, 2012 at 4:28 pm #

    Dogs are the most important accoutrements. Very helpful to look up from the computer and see them snoozing peacefully.

    • Donna L. Sadd May 29, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

      Gary, tell me what important accouterments occupy your space while you write? Thanks for stopping by! :0)

  4. wordplayunlimited May 30, 2012 at 8:53 am #

    A good place to write is often hard to find…thankfully we don’t always have to worry about places for our own ideas, that’d be a nightmare :0

    • Donna L. Sadd May 30, 2012 at 10:31 am #

      So true. Thanks for commenting. I visited your blog and left an ‘I’ alliteration. I’m following because I could use a daily challenge. :0)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. DAY 5 – FRUSTRATION – #BlogFlash2012: 30 Days, 30 Prompts, 30 Posts « Donna L Sadd - August 5, 2012

    […] The computer fiasco has only added insult to injury at the continuing FRUSTRATION that I’ve been ranting about on my blog and Facebook regarding my not having a writing space. […]

Leave a Reply

