Waxing Nostalgic – “Sugar Sugar”

8 Jun

Here’s a blast from the past. I was listening to the oldies yesterday and the song SUGAR SUGAR by The Archies came on. It was a favorite of mine when I was in third grade and I remembered that I had written a piece about it for a writing challenge not too long ago. I’ll be dating myself here but couldn’t resist posting a wonderful memory from my childhood:

SUGAR SUGAR

All three third grade classes at Harding Avenue Elementary School were called into the assembly hall for a special meeting. With the other two teachers by her side, my teacher proudly announced that we were all going to put on a play. I felt both excited and scared at the same time when I heard we would be performing it in front of the entire school.

Our teachers went on to explain that the play would have all sorts of skits and dances and music, and they began to describe the types of parts that were available. They told us that most of the different scenes called for groups of us kids to perform them, so my best friends Linda and Marian and I listened for a fun part we could all do together.

There were parts for astronauts and a bunch of boys were picked for that. A whole forest full of fairy parts went to a lot of girls in Miss Kline’s class. The kids in Band became the orchestra. The list went on and kids were selected one by one. My friends and I began to think that they would run out of parts and we would end up working backstage.

That’s when Ms. Kellman announced that they needed three go-go girls to perform The Archies’ song “Sugar, Sugar.” Our hands flew up right when we heard her say, “The Archies” because we knew was coming next. Sugar Sugar was our tippy-top favorite song, and it was the number-one hit all around the country. We already knew all the words and we danced to it all the time. This was perfect. This part was for us! We all frantically began to jump up and down so she could not miss us. She didn’t and we got the parts.

We only had a few weeks to perfect our act. Marian’s parents had the best stereo and we had the entire living room in which to practice. We’d line up in a row, first Marian, then me, and then Linda, and Marian would put the needle down on the record, jump in line and we were ready to go. “Sugar, sugar, ah honey, honey, you are my candy girl and you’ve got me wanting you.” We moved together first bopping to the right for three counts, and then the left for three counts, to the right, to the left and so on. “When I kissed you girl I knew how sweet a kiss could be (knew how sweet a kiss could be). Like the summer sunshine pour your sweetness over me (pour your sweetness over me). Whoa-O-O-O-O.” Big Spin!

One afternoon, after hours of practicing, Marian put the needle down on the record, turned to get in line but she tripped on me and I fell into Linda. We were a pile of exhausted go-go dancers all laughing and giggling on the floor.

I will never forget that day when my friends and I just laughed and laughed and laughed for what seemed to be forever.

2 Responses to “Waxing Nostalgic – “Sugar Sugar””

  1. Patricia June 9, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

    Hi, Donna!
    Great post! Brings back memories!
    I loved “Sugar Sugar”!! Except I was not in grade 3, try grade 10 or 11 !!

    Patricia

    • Donna L. Sadd June 12, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

      Heehee…the only good thing Patricia is at least we still remember the song! Feelin’ old!

Leave a Reply

