Potato Salad Texas Style

16 Jun

Hi Gang!

I was asked to prepare my Texas country potato salad for a big birthday party today, so I thought to share the recipe with you. I found it a few years ago on FoodNetwork.Com, and I tried it since I was new to Texas.

It’s a rustic version that’s extremely easy to make and it never fails to go over big time! This recipe yields 4 servings but it easily converts depending on the number of servings needed. (I used 5 pounds of potatoes and multiplied all the ingredients by 5.) Make it this weekend for your Father’s Day Cookout.

Ingredients:

4 Strips of bacon

1 Pound small red potatoes, unpeeled

1 Scallion, sliced

1 Boiled egg, chopped

1/4 Cup mayonnaise

1 teaspoon Dijon mustard

Salt & Pepper

Directions:

Cook bacon till crisp, reserving a few tablespoons of pan drippings. Crumble and set aside.

Put the potatoes in a large pot and cover with water. Add salt and a few tablespoons of bacon grease and bring to a boil over medium-high heat. Cook 15-20 minutes until the potatoes are tender, drain and let cool.

While your potatoes are boiling, chop your egg and scallion.

In a small bowl mix the mayo, Dijon mustard and salt & pepper to make the dressing.

Chop the potatoes into bite sized pieces, and toss with dressing, onion, egg and bacon. Serve chilled.

That’s it; that’s all there is to it!

Maybe dad would enjoy reading LUCCI-THE NO SMOOCHIE POOCHIE to the kids while having his potato salad. *hint, hint, wink, wink*

6 Responses to “Potato Salad Texas Style”

  1. Maria June 16, 2012 at 3:28 pm #

    I looooove potato salad! Thanks for sharing this new recipe!

    • Donna L. Sadd June 17, 2012 at 9:57 am #

      My pleasure Maria! This is a great recipe and the cooking of the potatoes with bacon drippings infuses a warm taste to the dish. Let me know how you like it once you try it.

  2. Courtney L. Gillard June 17, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

    Donna, May I put this one on our CEO page? I like to collect recipes there. I just link right to your post here, and use an image from the post.

    I responded to your comment on my blog content post, and I wanted to just come and tell you here how great you are doing, and that it takes time to find your groove…don’t worry! Tomorrow, I’m going to put up our first Local Flair event in our group for us to brainstorm ideas on our niches and voices. Take a look through those Local Flair articles, and I’m adding even more today:)

    Here’s the CEO link to see on the recipe: http://www.mommyladyclub.com/p/mommy-ceo.html

    • Donna L. Sadd June 18, 2012 at 8:51 am #

      Sure you can link up Courtney. Thank you for stopping by and I’ll be sure to check out the Local Flair articles as this is really where I need help. I didn’t mean to be a Debbie Downer, it was the frustration talking!

    • Courtney L. Gillard June 18, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

      Thanks Donna! I’ll let you know when I have the recipe up. No worries. You’re not a Debbie Downer;)

  3. ladyladuke July 19, 2012 at 12:12 pm #

    Donna, I forget to tell you I put up your recipe!…
    http://www.mommyladyclub.com/p/mommy-ceo.html

Leave a Reply

