DAY 7- SUNSET – #BlogFlash2012: 30 Days, 30 Prompts, 30 Posts

7 Aug

DAY 7 – SUNSET

Sunset. I fondly remember one that appeared at the end of a life changing story…or should I say the beginning?

In 2008, My hubby Bob, 3 dogs and I packed up the SUV and headed out to Texas to attend a Thanksgiving family reunion. It was a week-long event that was thoughtfully packed with special family events such as karaoke, food, bowling and food, flag football and food. You get the idea.

It had been decades since Bob had seen some of his kin and he had lost touch with others who had moved out to the wild west years before. It was enjoyable to meet members of ‘the other side’ and hear the funny anecdotes that are told and re-told at gathering such as these. Mostly, they were stories of when the adult attendees were children.

Speaking of kids, there were teens, tweens, toddlers and infants. There was a trampoline, a swing set, horse shoes, volleyball and resident dogs and guests’ dogs playing all over the yard.

Our wedding anniversary always falls right around Thanksgiving and this 14th anniversary landed on the day before Thanksgiving. Claudia, our hostess, Bob and I woke early and headed out to pick up breakfast for the masses. I was falling in love with the wide-open spaces and livestock dotting the landscape all around us, so she drove us further out into the country.

Bob and I were tiring of South Florida. The real estate market had recently crashed and Bob’s income had taken a huge hit. I had an injury that stopped me from working a year before. Crime was at an all-time high, and we were sick of the place. I mentioned that, “I could move out here tomorrow!” With that, Claudia stopped at a convenience store and picked up a newspaper. Bob just stared at me in disbelief.

There were two listings posted and one read: “Country living at its finest. 4-Bdrm Rock house. Livestock okay.” We called the number listed in the ad and drove out to see the place. This is what awaited us as we pulled in the driveway:

The house was situated on 6 acres. It was big, roomy and sun-filled with a large yard and I couldn’t see a thing wrong with it. It was then we did the most spur of the moment thing I think each of us had ever done in our lives. I pulled Bob aside and said, “I want the place.” He simply smiled and hugged me big. On only a small deposit and a handshake, the place was ours! On our wedding anniversary!

The rest of the family was shocked when we got back to Claudia’s house and announced we were moving to Texas. They were happy for us, but kept shaking their heads saying, “I can’t believe you guys are doing this! You’re just gonna pick up and move to TEXAS?” That night we were presented with anniversary cards, champagne and a cake and comments stating that we were crazy.

The next day was Thanksgiving and boy did we have a lot for which to be grateful! It was the most marvelous Thanksgiving ever.

We wanted to be in before Christmas, so we packed up the vehicle and the dogs and high-tailed it home to pack. Three weeks later we loaded our belongings, the dogs, bird and turtle and headed out towards our new home. Two of Bob’s uncles drove the U-Haul and a flatbed, and it took us 2 days to make the trip.

It was early evening December 19th and we were getting close. As we took the last turn around a bend on Highway 190 only minutes from the house, the most spectacular sunset greeted us. Oranges, reds and pinks I had never seen spanned before me in a jaw-dropping, awe-inspiring, crazy beautiful way. The entire horizon was alight and I cried. My heart had swelled and I felt as if God was showing me that we had made the right decision!

Though I had my camera beside me, I didn’t take the picture. That was one sunset I was never going to forget!

Related Articles:

#blogflash2012 Day 6- Reading

#blogflash2012 Day 5- Frustration

#blogflash2012 Day 4- Busy

8 Responses to “DAY 7- SUNSET – #BlogFlash2012: 30 Days, 30 Prompts, 30 Posts”

  1. Melina Gillies August 7, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

    What a wonderful story, and such a beautiful location. Those moments where everything seems so right in life are powerful indeed!

    • Donna L. Sadd August 7, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

      It sure was powerful and probably the best thing we’ve ever done Melina. We’ve never looked back! Thanks so much for your lovely comment. :0)

  2. carliemacullen August 7, 2012 at 6:43 pm #

    What a fantastic story – no wonder you’ll never forget that sunset. Thank you so much for sharing it!
    Carlie 😀

  3. Terri Giuliano Long (@tglong) August 7, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

    What a wonderful story, Donna! It sounds like it was a fantastic move for you!

    • Donna L. Sadd August 7, 2012 at 8:33 pm #

      It sure was Terri; only now I’ve got 3 screwy pet goats! :0)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #BlogFlash2012: 30 Days, 30 Prompts, 30 Posts: #8 - Relaxing - August 8, 2012

    […] (external)Day 7 “Sunsets” (#BlogFlash2012)#BlogFlash2012: Day Seven – SunsetDAY 7- SUNSET – #BlogFlash2012: 30 Days, 30 Prompts, 30 PostsMy first post for the August NaBloPoMostarting today with something […]

  2. #blogflash2012 Day 12 | alchemyofscrawl - August 12, 2012

    […] DAY 7- SUNSET – #BlogFlash2012: 30 Days, 30 Prompts, 30 Posts […]

  3. #blogflash2012 Day 14 Children | alchemyofscrawl - August 14, 2012

    […] DAY 7- SUNSET – #BlogFlash2012: 30 Days, 30 Prompts, 30 Posts […]

Leave a Reply

