DAY 17- GRAVEYARD – #BlogFlash2012

17 Aug

DAY 17 – GRAVEYARD

(Why Today?)

I spread ashes and made a graveyard today.

I haven’t had a place to visit since you went away.

No vase for flowers, no headstone to brush

No feelings have I since I felt the crush

Of being told that you were no longer here,

I never fathomed losing one so dear.

But it’s for real, a cold, stark truth.

I’ve felt as helpless as a child, a poor defenseless youth.

It’s your birthday today, three days before my own.

Now I must forever face our special time missing you, alone.

 I thought about it long and hard,

And found a spot right in the yard,

Where vivid red cardinals and pure white doves

Fly down to fresh seed from branches above.

It’s quiet there; it’s got a swing,

and it abounds with many a living thing.

I can sit with you now; you’re in this place.

A graveyard is the last thing one would think of the space.

Happy Birthday Mom!

LOVE YOU FOREVER PLUS A MILLION YEARS

Karen Louise

8/17/1941 – 9/8/2011

12 Responses to “DAY 17- GRAVEYARD – #BlogFlash2012”

  1. Angela (@LibraryGirlRead) August 17, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

    This is beautiful. I think today’s prompt brought up a lot of emotion for many of us. It is so hard to lose the ones we love.

    • Donna L. Sadd August 17, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

      Thanks Angela; it certainly made me deal with a day that I knew was coming, but did not want to face.

  2. Terri Giuliano Long (@tglong) August 17, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

    I’m so sorry about the timing, Donna, but so touched that you would share your thoughts with us. Thank you so very much!

    • Donna L. Sadd August 18, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

      There’s a reason for everything and the prompt forced me to deal with a pain I neatly tucked away last year. It was a cathartic experience so I thank you Terri.

  3. candylittle August 17, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

    Wow!! Hauntingly beautiful.

  4. carliemacullen August 17, 2012 at 6:50 pm #

    Now I understand why my post tipped you over the edge. I can totally relate to how you feel. This is so beautiful and moving, you’ve got your own back on me!
    You’re very brave sharing this at such a difficult and emotional time, I have such admiration for you.

  5. Melina Gillies (@melinagillies) August 17, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

    Oh Donna how wonderful you are to post this through such emotion. It was simply beautiful.

    • Donna L. Sadd August 18, 2012 at 3:40 pm #

      Thank you for your lovely comment Melina.

  6. David M. Brown August 17, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

    Beautiful post Donna. Very heartfelt and you’ve captured the emotions so well. Thank you for sharing this.

    • Donna L. Sadd August 18, 2012 at 3:41 pm #

      Thank YOU for taking the time to read it David.

  7. Joy Keeney August 18, 2012 at 12:44 am #

    Thank you for sharing Donna, this is a beautiful piece!

    • Donna L. Sadd August 18, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

      Thanks so much Joy. I read your ‘Graveyard’ post and just had to say that an idea blossomed in my head the other day for a children’s chapter book. I then remembered that I had voice recorded a snippet of an idea years ago. I dug it up to find that I can indeed string one idea along with the other! Glad I didn’t throw it away. :0)

Leave a Reply

