Dag Nabbitt, I Have Texas Hair!

13 Sep

lucci the no smoochie poochie, dog story, children's book, pets

This is my profile pic; the one on Twitter, Facebook and everywhere else that associates my friends and readers with me. Before you read on, I ask that you remember me this way because things have changed drastically!..

One of the first things I remember soon after moving to a small town in Texas close to 4 years ago was something Joy Behar said on “The View” one day. She mentioned a nation-wide poll that listed Texas as the “worst hair” state.

I recall saying, “Fabulous, I live here now,” but didn’t give the statistic more thought. Then, I soon became aware of some kind of a difference while walking through stores, parking lots, all around really. I noticed amateurish cuts, God-awful highlighting jobs, grown-out roots and pony tails…pony tails and hats. I promised myself that would never be me.

Take a look; Texas claimed two out of 13 of the worst cities in the country in a 2009 survey. “For the least hair-friendly cities, TotalBeauty noted a number of factors that contribute to frizz, dryness and other common hair complaints. These include humidity, hard water and a dearth of hair salons.”:

Donna L. Sadd

Unfortunately, the 2012 survey stayed the same.

Now, I’m a New Yorker who was used to plunking down $150.00 at the ‘beauty parlor’ for a color and a cut, more if it was time for highlights, the same in Florida. Yet, since moving to a ‘rustic’ small town in Central Texas Hill Country, I gave the 4 home-town salons a shot, but they were all sub-par. It’s just a different world out here, and I can attest for the “dearth” of hair salons.

It’s been such a slow process that I just had’nt noticed. The intense Texas heat found me cutting my hair short and I began coloring it myself. Let’s put it this way, after one showers and dresses then does farm chores, one needs another shower! It’s daunting and I guess somewhere along the line, something shifted.

I settled on a small neighborhood place that equates more to a barber shop than a salon, where I now pay (wait for it, wait for it) a WHOPPING $12.00! That’s if I drag my boney butt down to town to get it done; usually, I just trim my bangs over the bathroom sink. The one-woman shop owner is also the minister of the Korean church next door. I get a trim and a sermon all at once; now that’s one stop shopping!

I had always wanted to be an “Ivory Snow’ kind of girl, natural and make-up free, and I soon realized it out in this country. When my hubby and I get together with family, I’m the one in jeans and boots, hair up, no make-up (well maybe a tad of mascara) and they’re all face-painted, dressed up and acrylic-ed out. I shake my head; what’s the point? We’re out in the sticks for Pete’s sake and there’s no one to impress.

This stark reversal of mine found me feeling quite liberated, but lately it’s gotten a bit out of hand. Focusing full-time on writing hasn’t helped. I wake at 4:30 every morning so that I have some quiet time before my 3-mile morning walks at 6:30. I try to catch up on Twitter and Facebook so that I’ll be able to concentrate later on writing after I come home and get all 10 animals and a husband fed. Then I’m out in the goat yard for an hour or two cleaning up. By the time I get back in the house it’s noontime, and I get stuck in my pink Texas Longhorn ball cap that I wear on my morning walks.

Texas hair, lucci the no smoochie poochie, dogs, bedtime story, picture book

I’m beginning to think the “Great Grandma” is looking better than me.

Sometimes I can be found in my dilapidated cowboy hat feeding the dogs, doing farm chores, writing, cleaning the house, caring for the goats, writing, secretarial work for hubby, and writing.

Texas Hair, lucci the no smoochie poochie, dogs, bedtime story, children's book

It’s gotten so bad lately that I’ve regressed to pig tails!

Texas hair, lucci the no smoochie poochie, dogs, pets, bedtime story, children's book

Notice the roots? I went past Ivory Snow Girl, did not collect $200.00, and landed at Frump. I’ve become a statistic!

I only dare post shots from the back! Whaaaaah, I need a trip back to New York. :0(

8 Responses to “Dag Nabbitt, I Have Texas Hair!”

  1. James Garcia Jr September 13, 2012 at 10:34 pm #

    So hilarious! Hi, Donna. New follower here. It’s James (Jimmy to my pals) from Twitter today. I was visiting your blog to see what we might have had in common. I glanced over your recent post on hair issues and…#7 Fresno, Ca. I don’t live there, but I live 20 minutes south of there and am there pretty much every weekend. So funny!

    -Jimmy

    • Donna L. Sadd September 13, 2012 at 10:46 pm #

      Well thanks much for stopping by & taking a minute to read my ‘stuff.’ I appreciate it more than you ‘ll know Jmmy. :0)

    • James Garcia Jr September 13, 2012 at 10:57 pm #

      You’re welcome. I write horror and don’t read many children’s books now that my boys are 14 & 18, but we all need encouragement in this crazy business/hobby/mission/life’s work that we find ourselves in. One of the things that I have always said, whether I sell many books or not, is how much I may cherish the like-minded friendships I make during this time more than anything.
      Have a good night.

      Your new buddy from California,
      -Jimmy

    • Donna L. Sadd September 14, 2012 at 6:01 am #

      Jimmy, thanks for that; I feel the very same way. Now you go ahead and have a terrific DAY…well, in a few more hours that is! :0)

  2. candylittle September 14, 2012 at 12:28 am #

    LOL!! What a great post. Although I like your hair in your pic!!

    • Donna L. Sadd September 14, 2012 at 6:04 am #

      Oh Candy, I don’t know what to do; I’m beside myself. The pic was pre-Texas! I want to be like the Jersey housewives that have hair and make-up come to them! :0)

  3. Gerri Bowen September 14, 2012 at 10:02 am #

    I so understand, Donna! 🙂 Loved your post!

    • Donna L. Sadd September 14, 2012 at 11:53 am #

      Thanks for popping over Gerri. I’m glad someone understands. :0)

Leave a Reply

