Recipe for Chicken Pot Pie

11 Oct

credit-blakesallnaturaldot com

Hi Folks,

Today we’re doing a  RECIPE FOR CHICKEN POT PIE. We had our first 40 degree morning in Texas this week, and it made me think comfort food!

When a writer regularly posts nothing but recipes of late, you know she’s in trouble. I’ll tell ya, I’ve been really trying to segregate myself from social media (yeah, that’s not working) and the rest of my duties (Gee whiz, I’ve got 5 dogs and livestock, duties one cannot delay like the laundry or dusting), and I’m feeling a bit lost.

I’ve got two rough drafts of children’s picture books and I’ve sketched out the beginnings of a chapter book that I’m crazy excited about; yet the hours pass me by doing the ‘have-to’s’ and I never seem to get to writing more than a page or two at a time. Nothing’s going to congeal at this rate, and I’m terribly frustrated.

So. I. Cook. It’s my release. It’s been funny lately because I ask myself, “Have I posted this meal yet?” If I haven’t, I shoot the steps so at least I can continue to post on my blog.

One thing I do feel confident about is that I am a good cook, and the recipes I post are tried-and-true and worthwhile. So sit back, print out the links and try this one yourself. Fall is upon us and there’s nothing like a home-made recipe for chicken pot pie to warm the cockles of your heart. :0)

Here’s a great video for making pie crust from AllRecipes.com. It covers 7-steps and shows great tips to get a perfect dough, such as making sure your mixing bowl, dough cutter and ice water are all well-chilled before preparing dough.

I’m linking 2 pie crust recipes here for your convenience:

Here’s a basic pie crust recipe for a single pie.

I use a recipe that yields 6 pie crusts, which gets me 3 double-crust chicken pot pies; this way I have one for dinner and can freeze two meals for later. If you choose to use this 6 pie crust recipe, substitute the ‘lard’ for 1 Cup butter and 1 Cup vegetable shortening, and save yourself a lot of mixing by adding about 8 tablespoons of ice water to start, then mix adding more water 1 tablespoon at a time. [NOTE: This recipe can be mixed, leaving out the water, and stored in an airtight container in the fridge for up to 6 weeks. To make 2 pie crusts, combine 2 1/2 cups mix with 5 tablespoons of water and you’re ready to go. This is especially convenient around the holidays, as you’ll have dough ready to go anytime.]

Ingredients for One Chicken Pot Pie:

1 pound skinless, boneless chicken breast halves- cubed

1 Cup sliced carrots

1 Cup frozen green peas

1/2 Cup sliced celery

1/3 Cup butter

1/3 Cup chopped onion

1/3 Cup all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

1/4 teaspoon celery seed

2 Cups* chicken broth -*the recipe calls for less but I found this is better

1 Cup* milk -*the recipe calls for less but I found this is better

2 (9 inch) unbaked pie crusts

6 Pie Crust Ingredients:

6 Cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 Cup butter -well-chilled

1 Cup vegetable shortening- well-chilled

Before starting: chill mixing bowls, pastry cutter (or 2 forks), fat, and ice water

7-Step Pie Crust: (for a great visual explanation please view the video.)

Step 1- combine dry ingredients

Step 2- Cut in fat- slice into small pieces before adding to flour mixture. Using pastry cutter or 2 forks, cut in fat, turning the bowl and scraping the flour into the center as you go. Work mixture until fat clumps are the size of small peas.

Step 3- Add liquid- sprinkle mixture with a little ice water 1 tablespoon at a time. Mix in the water gently using a fork. (Texture should look dry and crumbly. Test: if the mix sticks together in your hand it’s good, otherwise add another 1/2 Tbsp. and toss and test.) Don’t over work or add to much water to mixture.

Step 4- Refrigerate dough to rest- divide the mixture into balls and transfer into quart size zip lock bags, and press dough into disks. (2 crusts-2 bags). Refrigerate for an hour.

Step 5- Roll out dough- flour rolling pin and counter space. Unwrap disk and smush lightly with your hand to flatten. Roll outwards from the middle, rotating a 1/4 turn after every roll, go until no thicker than 1/4″. Place a pie pan upside down on the dough. Rolled dough should be 2″ wider than the pan (4″ for deep dish).

Step 6- Place dough in pan- fold the dough in half, then in half again, put point in center of pan, unfold, pressing dough into bottom edges of the pan. Fix any rips with a bit of water and press. (Of course, I’d come up with plenty of rips and tears for this presentation…Murphy’s law.)

Step 7- Trim edges- Use a paring knife and trim along pan edge. For the top crust, roll dough one inch wider in diameter and place on parchment-lined baking pan, cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 30 minutes.

While the dough is refrigerating, I start my chicken mixture.

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

2. In a saucepan, combine chicken, carrots, peas, and celery. Add water to cover and boil for 15 minutes. Remove from heat, drain and set aside.

3. In the saucepan over medium heat, cook onions in butter until soft and translucent. Stir in flour, salt, pepper and celery seed. Slowly stir in chicken broth and milk. Simmer over medium-low heat until thickened. In essence, you’re making a rue. Remove from heat and set aside.

* This is when I blind bake the bottom crust. Any time you’re making a pie with moist fillings, it’s a good idea to blind bake it so it doesn’t get soggy. To do so, line the dough pan with parchment paper and place dried beans or pastry weights and bake for 15 minutes. Another option I learned about is to take a pie tin and prick it with a fork and place in pan as pictured here. Allow to cool before filling.

Step 4- The attached recipe calls for something different, but I add the chicken veggie mixture to the rue and mix. Once the blind baked dough is cool, add the mixture to the pies…

Tip: Always place your pies on baking pans, just in case a pie wants to boil over. :0)

…Step 4 cont’d- Cover with top crust and seal edges. Make several small slits in the top to allow steam to escape.

Step 5- Bake in a preheated oven for 30 to 35 minutes, or until pastry is golden brown and the filling is bubbly. Cool for 10 minutes before serving.

While the pie is cooling, I just wanted to remind you that you have every day until October 31st to enter the HEART SEARCH: LOST GIVEAWAY!

On the next cool evening, why not warm your family’s tummies with this easy recipe for chicken pot pie.

 

7 Responses to “Recipe for Chicken Pot Pie”

  1. Gerri Bowen October 11, 2012 at 2:40 pm #

    This look sooo good, Donna!

    • Donna L. Sadd October 11, 2012 at 2:52 pm #

      I grew up on the little frozen types, where I ate the crust and gave the rest to my brother. This pot pie tastes absolutely scrumptious down to the last morsel, so try it.

      Gerri, thank you so much for taking the time to read my posts; I truly appreciate it. :0)

  2. Penelope October 11, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

    This looks fantastic! This is one of my all-time favorite comfort foods. Yum!

    • Donna L. Sadd October 11, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

      Hiya Penny. How ’bout tradzies…I mail you a pot pie if I can get my hands on your “Lumberjack in Love” mug? My hubby needs a hint *wink, wink* :0)

  3. fuonlyknew October 17, 2012 at 9:23 pm #

    I can almost smell and taste this! Can I come over for dinner?:)

    • Donna L. Sadd October 17, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

      Suuure, anytime! This is a good one even if store-bought pie crusts are used. :0)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Not Your Average Pot Pie! « LauraLovingLife - October 21, 2012

    […] Recipe for Chicken Pot Pie (donnalsadd.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

