#BlogFlash2013- Day 2- Technology

4 Mar

Day 2 – Technology

Credit- bsd405.org

     It’s not as if one can write pretty prose about technology. It’s cold, technical,  highfalutin, brilliant, but too complicated for me to describe; nevertheless, write about in terms of endearment. 

     If you’re like me, you have a computer in front of you and your smart phone by your side, as you work on the former, and use the latter to constantly chime in on Twitter or Facebook or LinkedIn, or Pinterest, blah, blah, blah, in an effort to keep up on social media. Oh, and then one cannot forget the Kindle, Nook, Kobo or whatever one uses to download books for their queue to review. 

     After crashing and burning in my first NaNoWriMo in November 2012, I chose to take a break from technology for awhile. My Klout score plummeted and my ‘reach’ dumped. I wasn’t on Twitter to RT or Mention or S.O. I did no liking or sharing on Facebook, and I worried about it… for about a nanosecond. 

     I realized that my writing had taken a backseat to it all. “Isn’t that what it’s all supposed to be about?” I asked myself. “After all, you’re new at this and wouldn’t time be better spent honing your craft?” 

     The answer was ‘yes,’ so I decided not to use technology at all. Instead, it was a yellow legal pad and a few sharp pencils, hard copy books from my shelves, and tons of children’s books from the shelves of my local library. I tucked my Kindle in a drawer. 

     I spent time in the fresh air of nature and went back in to meditation. 

     I got my balance back after taking a breather from technology. I returned to writing with a fresh outlook. The nicest surprise of all is that my Tweeps and FB friends supported me in my absence. 

     Technology, you can live without it…if only for a short while.

Related Articles-

Terri Giuliano Long

Carlie M A Cullen

10 Responses to “#BlogFlash2013- Day 2- Technology”

  1. Miss_Biggun March 4, 2013 at 8:34 am #

    This is very true, a brilliant post about technology and the hold it has over us, but I thought it was supposed to be 50-100 words? I’ve never done a BlogFlash before..

    • Donna L. Sadd March 4, 2013 at 8:38 am #

      Woops, you’re right and I forgot! Sorry. :0(

  2. Amanda Taylor March 4, 2013 at 9:32 am #

    Yes, sometimes we need a break. I usually go into nature but I let all the peeps know that I’ll be gone and won’t be back until whatever. Sometimes a day on the lake with a fishing pole is nice too!

    • Donna L. Sadd March 4, 2013 at 10:23 am #

      That’s the only thing I don’t like about living in central Texas Amanda, nowhere to fish! That’s my first love. :0)

  3. jonathanfirth March 4, 2013 at 5:02 pm #

    Great post – I’m just like you with the exception of kindle/kobo, I haven’t really got into ebooks. Not sure why. I agree it’s important to prioritise… I let everything slip a bit last year, twitter, blogging, writing… Perhaps the break did me good, I’m not sure yet!

    • Donna L. Sadd March 4, 2013 at 5:13 pm #

      Time will tell Jonathan; I appreciate your popping in regardless. :0)

  4. Angela (@LibraryGirlRead) March 4, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

    Great post! I love that you took so much of a technology break that you wrote on a legal pad. I really need to take technology breaks more often. I forget how good it feels to really disconnect!

    • Donna L. Sadd March 5, 2013 at 10:56 am #

      It really does feel good Angela. Thanks for popping in. :0)

  5. Terri Giuliano Long (@tglong) March 5, 2013 at 4:30 pm #

    You’re so right, Donna! It feels as though our network might collapse if we don’t keep maintaining it constantly but it is possible – sometimes advisable – to take a break. So glad it worked out for you!

Leave a Reply

