#Blogflash2013- Day 5 – Health

7 Mar

Day 5 – Health

3-7-2013-blogflash-Day-5-Health

The health of my manuscripts is improving!

This January, I joined Julie Hedlund’s 12×12 group. I’ve written two picture book drafts, and both need a lot of revision, but I’m optimistic.

I also joined my first critique group, The Picture Book Scribblers, and am so grateful to have found this intimate group. They’ve helped move my writing along tremendously in such a short period of time. Having several sets of talented eyes review my work is indeed healthy.

The most valuable thing I’ve learned is to let the baby sit awhile, then go back to it. It’s critical to the manuscript’s health.

20 Responses to “#Blogflash2013- Day 5 – Health”

  1. Amanda Taylor (@A_K_Taylor) March 7, 2013 at 9:39 am #

    Glad you book’s health is looking up!

    • Donna L. Sadd March 7, 2013 at 10:24 am #

      Me too! I was scared to join a critique group because I’m new, but that’s exactly the reason to join. I learn so much and I’m sorry that I waited; I probably could have been much further along. :0)

  2. tasselflower March 7, 2013 at 1:22 pm #

    Hah, I like your different sort of take on the subject. And congrats for your book’s better health. 🙂

  3. Carlie M A Cullen March 7, 2013 at 2:36 pm #

    I’m so glad you’re moving forward with your writing, Donna. Love the unusual interpretation of the prompt! 🙂

    • Donna L. Sadd March 7, 2013 at 2:40 pm #

      Thanks Carlie; it’s truly made a difference.

  4. shacklefordlb March 7, 2013 at 2:53 pm #

    Very good, Donna. Sounds like a healthy relationship with writing x.

    • Donna L. Sadd March 7, 2013 at 5:10 pm #

      I feel that I’m heading in the right direction lately Lesley. Whoopie!

  5. Bobbie Alana's Spouse March 7, 2013 at 3:57 pm #

    I’ve enjoyed reading today’s BlogFlash2013 posts from several different perspectives on ‘health.’ Interesting. Bobbie – http://myhusbandlooksbetter.com/?page_id=6

  6. Aria Glazki March 7, 2013 at 5:38 pm #

    Such a creative response to the prompt! Glad your manuscript baby is well 🙂

    • Donna L. Sadd March 7, 2013 at 5:43 pm #

      Thanks for popping over Aria! :0)

  7. candylittle March 7, 2013 at 5:41 pm #

    Awesome to hear about your writing!! Keep going!!

    • Donna L. Sadd March 7, 2013 at 5:45 pm #

      Thanks Candy! I’ve got a long road a hoe, but I’m enjoying the process a heck of a lot more lately…even revisions. :0)

  8. Kimberly Gould March 12, 2013 at 8:11 pm #

    Interesting, Manuscript health. I like it. I also let my MS sit for a month or so before touching it. I think of it like dough, it needs time to do its thing and my brain to do its. When I come back, it is less familiar and much easier to cut into.

    • Donna L. Sadd March 13, 2013 at 9:48 am #

      That’s it exactly Kimberly. It’s like seeing the writing with fresh eyes. :0)

  9. Terri Giuliano Long (@tglong) March 15, 2013 at 11:15 am #

    I really love this approach to the prompt, Donna! Shaping writing can feel so daunting at first, but so uplifting in time!

    • Donna L. Sadd March 15, 2013 at 1:59 pm #

      Thanks Terri; I’m feeling a lot better having fresh eyeballs on my work…saves a lot of time in cutting rather than marrying the work. :0)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Health: Day Five #blogflash 2013 | mohanalakshmi.com - March 8, 2013

    […] #Blogflash2013- Day 5 – Health […]

  2. Chocolate: Day 8 #blogflash2013 - Mohanalakshmi Rajakumar - February 4, 2015

    […] #Blogflash2013- Day 5 – Health […]

  3. Day Seven #blogflash2013: Nature - Mohanalakshmi Rajakumar - February 4, 2015

    […] #Blogflash2013- Day 5 – Health […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.