#BlogFlash2013- Day 7- Nature – A Butterfly Thanked Me Today

11 Mar

I did a post not too long ago that I believe fits a ‘Nature’ prompt to a tee.

It was a special experience for me and, in case you missed it, I’d like to share it with you now.

A BUTTERFLY THANKED ME TODAY

Hi Folks,

Just a little quicky that I thought I’d share. A butterfly thanked me today for saving its life in a most special way! And no, I’m not crazy…well maybe just a tad, but I DO believe that Divine gifts are sent our way, and we simply need to be aware to appreciate them! :0)

I opened the back door to let the dogs in from the yard. Dixie goat came up to get her usual rubs, and then Daisy doe went to get a drink. As I looked her way, I saw a butterfly floundering in the water bucket, so I quickly fished it out of the bucket and set it down on the stone window ledge. I had my phone in my back pocket, so I began to take some shots of it.

The poor baby’s wings were weighed down in the small puddle of water that came along when I rescued it.

He started to climb the rock wall, but was shaky. I was worried that he’d fall back into the drink so I cupped him in my hand and walked him out to the hay bin into the sunshine to dry up.

There was a sudden commotion from the dogs, so I put my phone on the roof of the bin and gently placed the butterfly down. When I came back to the bin the butterfly was gone. Mission accomplished! I then picked up my phone to find this on my screen:

My Gift

Happy trails little butterfly!

Related Articles-

To Science and Beyond

Rain, It’s Liquid Gold

Carlie M A Cullen

15 Responses to “#BlogFlash2013- Day 7- Nature – A Butterfly Thanked Me Today”

  1. Gerri Bowen March 11, 2013 at 9:15 am #

    I love this!

  2. Amanda Taylor (@A_K_Taylor) March 11, 2013 at 4:20 pm #

    It’s a fuzzy feeling to help an animal in need doesn’t it! I have fished out bumblebees from a watery doom myself!

  3. Lizzie Koch (@lizzie_loodles) March 11, 2013 at 5:19 pm #

    This is gorgeous and such an inspiring moment in nature. x

  4. Carlie M A Cullen March 11, 2013 at 5:56 pm #

    I loved this the first time you posted it and am glad to be reminded of it! Fabulous post, Donna 🙂 x

    • Donna L. Sadd March 11, 2013 at 6:49 pm #

      Thanks so much Carlie; I couldn’t resist re-posting. :0)

  5. Mervi (tasselflower) March 11, 2013 at 8:25 pm #

    Awww that’s so cute! Love it.

  6. Aria Glazki March 12, 2013 at 12:36 am #

    That’s such a wonderful story – and so conscientious of you to save the butterfly!

    • Donna L. Sadd March 12, 2013 at 7:30 am #

      Butterflies, worms, spiders, ant, wasps…makes no difference! :0)

  7. shacklefordlb March 12, 2013 at 8:16 am #

    Gorgeous, a precious little creature x.

    • Donna L. Sadd March 12, 2013 at 8:20 am #

      It sure was, and it was fascinating that it stayed on my hand to dry off. :0)

  8. Kimberly Gould March 12, 2013 at 8:12 pm #

    Bye bye butterfly! Such wonder around us.

    • Donna L. Sadd March 13, 2013 at 9:48 am #

      Thanks for popping in Kimberly! :0)

  9. Terri Giuliano Long (@tglong) March 15, 2013 at 12:27 pm #

    How lovely! Thank you so much for sharing this, Donna! It has made my day so much sweeter.

Leave a Reply

