#BlogFlash2013- Day 8 – Chocolate

12 Mar

DAY 8 – CHOCOLATE

3-12-2013 BLOGFLASH-DAY 8- CHOCOLATE

Whenever I think of chocolate, I think of my grandfather. (Warning, this story is a bit weird.)

When I was a little kid in Brooklyn, every afternoon Grandpa would take me to the park. We’d always stop at the candy store before we entered to get my candy of choice- chocolate cigarettes.

They came in flat, translucent plastic cases, shaped just like the grown up’s. I’d open the box to find 10 paper-wrapped cigarettes that I would drag out eating over the hours we’d spend at the park.

Grandpa and I would feed the ducks. Talk. Then walk. Sit and feed the squirrels. Then talk some more. He was the best listener around, and this 4-year old thought he was the coolest because he let me smoke

Told ya it was weird; can you imagine, they actually made CHOCOLATE cigarettes for kids way back then! :0)

Related articles-

 Terri Giuliano Long

Carlie M A Cullen

#BlogFlash2013- Day 1- Laughter

14 Responses to “#BlogFlash2013- Day 8 – Chocolate”

  1. kimpitbull123 March 12, 2013 at 8:35 am #

    I remember those, and the white ones with the red tip. How times have changed. Penny candy, what’s that!! Mom and pop stores were the best. Did you really live in Brooklyn NY?

    • Donna L. Sadd March 12, 2013 at 8:58 am #

      Yeah, the white ones had sugar that PUFFED! Yep, I was born in Brooklyn and then we moved out to Lindenhurst, Long Island when I was 5. I lived in Dix Hills and Northport too. I know you live upstate now, but are you from Brooklyn Kim?

  2. kimpitbull123 March 12, 2013 at 10:47 am #

    No, always lived right around this area. I was born in Connecticut but we moved to Ny when I was 1 or so. Your just so country. I would have never thought of you growing up in the city, but you really didn’t. I miss some of those good old days, only some! Lol. I’m glad the way my life turned out. I got lucky meeting Joe. ❤

    • Donna L. Sadd March 12, 2013 at 11:37 am #

      Isn’t that funny, I always wanted to be an ‘ivory snow girl,’ so to hear that I’m ‘so country’ is music to my ears Kim. That thought would fly right out the window if you heard my accent though (never lost it). People out here in Texas look at me funny all the time! :0)

  3. Gerri Bowen March 12, 2013 at 4:53 pm #

    I remember candy cigarettes, but I never had the chocolate kind. Lovely memory of your grandfather, Donna.

    • Donna L. Sadd March 12, 2013 at 6:26 pm #

      They were delicious Gerri, and I used to put my crayons in the cases. :0)

  4. candylittle March 12, 2013 at 6:42 pm #

    Great memory, Donna. I remember having candy cigarettes but not chocolate. LOL!!

    • Donna L. Sadd March 12, 2013 at 7:08 pm #

      Despite the fact that they were ‘cigarettes,’ they were delectable Candy…get it? Candy tee,hee :0)

  5. Carlie M A Cullen March 12, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

    I remember both the white and chocolate ones! A wonderful memory to ‘drag’ up, Donna! (See you’re not the only one who can play on words, lol) 🙂 x

    • Donna L. Sadd March 12, 2013 at 7:54 pm #

      Too funny Carlie! I’m so happy to hear that someone else actually had the same memory of chocolate cigs to ‘drag’ out of her grey matter…your the first one! :0)

  6. Mervi (tasselflower) March 12, 2013 at 8:07 pm #

    But it’s a cute story, grandpa and feeding the squirrels and all!

    The chocolate cigs I don’t recall ever seeing. We have these liquorice pipes (you know, like the ones elderly men would smoke with) around here.

    • Donna L. Sadd March 13, 2013 at 9:47 am #

      Don’t know if my comment went through…I’m dating myself Mervi because the chocolate cigs go back about 40 years! Yep, I’m ‘older.’

  7. Kimberly Gould March 12, 2013 at 8:13 pm #

    I love chocolate cigarettes! Makes perfect sense to me. 🙂

    • Donna L. Sadd March 13, 2013 at 6:06 pm #

      Can you get them in Canada Kimberly? While I have you, is there an easy way to comment on your site?

Leave a Reply

