#BlogFlash2013- Day 9 – Spring

13 Mar

3-13-2013 BLOGFLASH DAY 9- SPRING-SIDE

I planted bulbs for the first time ever last October after the first frost. It’s tough to grow much here in Texas because it gets crazy hot and scorches anything growing in the ground, so I thought I’d try growing in pots. I chose bulbs because I love the idea of forgetting about them when the cold weather comes, only to see them miraculously spring back up from out of no where the next Spring. I planted them according to the directions, and said a prayer.

3-13-2013 BLOGFLASH- DAY 9- SPRING-FRONT

Then the weather turned very warm this winter, and the bulbs were ‘faked’ into growing as if it were Spring.

3-13-2013-BLOGFLASH- DAY 9- SPRING-FENCE

Once the bulbs started sprouting, I panicked whenever the temps would dip past freezing thinking that I’d lose them, but the experts advised to cover the pots with leaves and they’d be sure to come back.

3-13-2013 BLOGFLASH DAY 9- SPRING-FIRST SPROUT

The first bloom sprouted last week, a blue hyacinth! 

3-13-2013 BLOGFLASH DAY 9-SPRING-POTS

Tulip leaves also began to poke their sturdy forms through the dirt.

If you look real closely by the left side of the tub, you’ll find the first tulip bloom. It sprouted this morning.

After thinking on it, I could be wrong. Don’t tulips come up through their leaves? Hmm, weed perhaps?

3-13-2013 BLOGFLASH2013 DAY 9- SPRING-TULIP

Spring has sprung at my house, weeds and all!

Whoopee!

Related Articles-

Terri Giuliano Long

Tassel Flower

Carlie M A Cullen

20 Responses to “#BlogFlash2013- Day 9 – Spring”

  1. Gerri Bowen March 13, 2013 at 10:15 am #

    I love to see bulbs coming up in the spring, Donna. Warm weather can’t be too far behind!

    • Donna L. Sadd March 13, 2013 at 10:17 am #

      They make you feel brand new! It’s already warm here, 70s today, 80s this weekend! :0)

  2. Mervi (tasselflower) March 13, 2013 at 11:43 am #

    Can’t wait for spring. We have still lots of snow and cold and all. Oh and darned, I’m forgetting to plant my herb seeds. Soon it’ll be too late!

    • Donna L. Sadd March 13, 2013 at 12:17 pm #

      You better get planting! The good thing is that herbs can also be grown inside. :0)

  3. Carlie M A Cullen March 13, 2013 at 11:53 am #

    In my garden at the moment I’ve got crocuses, snowdrops and daffodils – it’s a wonderful sight. It’s just a shame we’ve got crazy weather here; one minute it’s snowing and freezing cold, and the next the sun’s out, the wind drops a bit and the temperature gets over 4 degrees C.
    Donna, I think I wanna move to Texas – I hate the cold!!! >_<

    • Donna L. Sadd March 13, 2013 at 12:19 pm #

      Oh, how lovely they must look. It seems they’re hearty little buggers. Texas? Jump the pond and come on over! :0)

  4. Lizzie Koch (@lizzie_loodles) March 13, 2013 at 1:29 pm #

    I am always in awe of those who are green fingered. I can’t grow anything. I try, but I can’t. Your pics are lovely and make me think I could do that. xx

    • Donna L. Sadd March 13, 2013 at 4:39 pm #

      YOU CAN DO IT! I had sketchy weather and they still popped up. I still want to see if they hold up for the same reason. ;0)

  5. kimpitbull123 March 13, 2013 at 3:44 pm #

    Yay, I remember talking about his last year. There’s so many ideas for potted plants. Have fun. I can’t wait to see my first peak-a-boo..lol

    • Donna L. Sadd March 13, 2013 at 4:32 pm #

      Ooh, post pics when they sprout. ;0)

  6. fuonlyknew March 13, 2013 at 10:08 pm #

    Living on the gulf cost in Alabama, I know what you mean about blistering hot sun. My bulbs rotted away in the grond and I now do them in pots! Love to see those hints of green.
    I hope you post more as these really get growing!

    • Donna L. Sadd March 14, 2013 at 8:24 am #

      No kidding Laura, they rotted in the ground? Whew, I feel better with the pots now. I’ll post my pics if you post yours. :0)

  7. Aria Glazki March 14, 2013 at 3:34 am #

    I, like Lizzie, am completely incapable of gardening – good for you! Weeds or now, life is blooming in your pots.

  8. Terri Giuliano Long (@tglong) March 18, 2013 at 4:54 pm #

    How lovely to see the progression in photographs! Thank you for sharing this, Donna!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #blogflash2013 Day 9 Spring | alchemyofscrawl - March 13, 2013

    […] #BlogFlash2013- Day 9 – Spring […]

  2. #BlogFlash 2013 Day 10: Time - BackWoodsAuthor - March 14, 2013

    […] #BlogFlash2013- Day 9 – Spring […]

  3. Spring: Day 9 #blogflash2013 | mohanalakshmi.com - March 14, 2013

    […] #BlogFlash2013- Day 9 – Spring […]

  4. #BlogFlash 2013 Day 11: Running - BackWoodsAuthor - March 15, 2013

    […] #BlogFlash2013- Day 9 – Spring […]

  5. Time: Day 10, #blogflash2013 - Mohanalakshmi Rajakumar - February 4, 2015

    […] #BlogFlash2013- Day 9 – Spring […]

Leave a Reply

