#BlogFlash2013- Day 14- Home

20 Mar

DAY 14 – HOME

Photo- D L Sadd

Photo- D L Sadd

My mother’s nickname was ‘Gypsy’. Divorced with 3 kids in tow, she bought homes, updated them, and sold them at a profit to help support us. She did a good job.

We all helped, and I’m thankful to say that I’m capable of doing any home improvement project. The downside was that we learned to keep a lot packed because we wouldn’t be settling in. That was unsettling. I don’t know whether I can think of any house as a home because I’m always afraid of getting the rug pulled from under me, literally.

‘Home‘ can mean different thing to different people. My home is in my husband’s arms, being buried under a pile of smooching pups, seeing my goats run to me each morning, and in noting that all sorts of critters seek refuge wherever I live.

Photo- D L Sadd

Photo- D L Sadd

HAPPY SPRING!!!!

Everything's coming' up Tulips & Hyacinths!

Everything’s coming’ up tulips & hyacinths!

Related Articles

Carlie M A Cullen- Day 14 – Home

Terri Giuliano Long- Day Thirteen – Darkness: Sweet Dreams

AK TAYLOR-Day 13: Darkness

20 Responses to “#BlogFlash2013- Day 14- Home”

  1. shacklefordlb March 20, 2013 at 2:17 pm #

    Love the sound of your home. Your goats are gorgeous x.

    • Donna L. Sadd March 20, 2013 at 3:10 pm #

      Thanks Lesley. They’re 2 of the three, obviously spoiled goats that I have- Dixie and Dot

  2. Sherry March 20, 2013 at 3:22 pm #

    Cool goats. I love the pic. You can tell they are so happy to see you. lol I read you first today. ^_^

    • Donna L. Sadd March 20, 2013 at 3:31 pm #

      Woo, woo, I was first! lol Sherry, they get in the window for grapes and carrots…now it’s also pretzels and graham crackers. They’ve got me wrapped around their hooves.

    • Sherry March 20, 2013 at 4:02 pm #

      That is so sweet and funny. ^_^

  3. Carlie M A Cullen March 20, 2013 at 5:36 pm #

    I can understand why it was unsettling moving around so much, but the good side of it was at least your family was together. I think it’s so lovely that your home is in your husband’s arms! 🙂

    • Donna L. Sadd March 20, 2013 at 5:40 pm #

      Yes, and we were very close. Yet, I wish my home could have been filled with children.

  4. Gerri Bowen March 20, 2013 at 6:03 pm #

    Your present home sounds plenty good to me!

  5. candylittle March 20, 2013 at 6:16 pm #

    Beautiful, Donna!! Loved the idea of your home being in your husband’s arms. Really wish my marriage was that strong.

    • Donna L. Sadd March 21, 2013 at 2:05 pm #

      Believe me Candy, we’ve got our ups and downs.

  6. Kimberly Gould March 20, 2013 at 10:26 pm #

    I had an uncle who did similarly. He’d build the house and then the family would move in while he finished it. I never envied them.

    • Donna L. Sadd March 21, 2013 at 7:58 am #

      Yes, it was hard in some ways, but my mom always kept us in the same school district so it wasn’t the end of the world either.

  7. fuonlyknew March 20, 2013 at 10:30 pm #

    I get it!!! Home is where the heart is:) You’re ‘home’ sounds lovely.

    Look at those sweet faces:)

    I see the flowers are growing like crazy. My camera died and have to go get new one! Soon as I do I’ll try to get some picks up!

    • Donna L. Sadd March 21, 2013 at 7:55 am #

      I posted that pic for you Laura, so hurry up and send your pics!! Do you know what to do when a tulip blossom falls off…pinch back, cut stem?

  8. Linda Ulleseit March 21, 2013 at 1:45 pm #

    Lovely ideas, goats, and flowers. My pups (yellow Labs who look a lot like Lucci) ate my mini daffodils. The crocuses got away….

    Linda

    • Donna L. Sadd March 21, 2013 at 2:02 pm #

      Too funny Linda; my goats ate the daffodils too! thanks for popping in. :0)

  9. David M. Brown March 22, 2013 at 9:50 am #

    It must have been tough moving so often.

    Your home sounds wonderful and the goats are lovely.

    • Donna L. Sadd March 22, 2013 at 9:58 am #

      Thanks David; it wasn’t too bad because we stayed in the same school district so I kept my friends at least. My mother was also very successful at it so we always moved ‘up.’ thanks for popping in. :0)

  10. Terri Giuliano Long (@tglong) March 31, 2013 at 7:34 pm #

    What lovely pictures and gorgeous goats! I’ve moved around some (though nowhere near as much!) and it can be unsettling. I’m finally learning that home is all about who you’re with, not where you are.

Leave a Reply

