#BlogFlash2013 – Day 19- City

27 Mar
Photo credit-theepochtimes.com

Photo credit-theepochtimes.com

CITY

It’s 4:44, I mustn’t sleep any more
Gotta rise early before I head out the door
Play catch up online, dress and eat
Hurry, hurry hustle to hit the street

Hop the train in the pouring rain
Commuting to the city is a royal pain
Crammed on the subway to get to my block
Still, I run late as I spot a clock

Push through the crowds, past towers of stone
Umbrella breaks, I’m chilled to the bone
Ride the elevator stories up
Run to the break room to fill up my cup

Dash to my desk to begin my work
As assistant to the assistant accounting clerk
I gaze out sealed windows as the hours drag by
Invisible in this city, I stifle a cry

I’m betting something better waits for me
As I type my resignation with a smidgen of glee
This cold, hard city I will not take anymore
I marched out the door at 4:44

Photo credit-geofffox.com

Photo credit-geofffox.com

18 Responses to “#BlogFlash2013 – Day 19- City”

  1. Sherry March 27, 2013 at 11:32 am #

    Awesome. My head was spinning and I laughed as I read it three times. LOL Have a great day.

    • Donna L. Sadd March 27, 2013 at 1:07 pm #

      Thanks Sherry. Would you believe, I woke up at 4:44 and just had to do something with that number. As a New Yorker, not an accountant though, I’m well aware of what that commute is like.

    • Sherry March 27, 2013 at 1:46 pm #

      It is weird how that happens sometimes. I visited there many times when I lived in Rochester New York. A great and fun city, but I really wouldn’t want to live there. As I have gotten older, I like a slower pace. ^_^

    • Donna L. Sadd March 27, 2013 at 2:01 pm #

      Same here, but I do miss the plays and symphony, and well, the restaurants, and….:0)

  2. Mervi (tasselflower) March 27, 2013 at 1:33 pm #

    Great and funny and sad poem. Very accurate in times.

  3. Gerri Bowen March 27, 2013 at 3:10 pm #

    I liked that, Donna!

  4. Carlie M A Cullen March 27, 2013 at 3:50 pm #

    Great poem, Donna!
    I used to commute to London every day and the journey was just as you described. I soon became disenchanted with the daily grind of London and as much as I loved the city, I sought a job closer to home. Your words brought back loads of memories! πŸ™‚

    • Donna L. Sadd March 27, 2013 at 3:55 pm #

      Thanks Carlie! Just think, if you never made that change, the world wouldn’t have HEART SEARCH: LOST & the books that will follow. I, for one, am glad! :0)

  5. Linda Ulleseit March 27, 2013 at 5:24 pm #

    I love visiting the city (mine is San Francisco) but I can’t imagine commuting on a daily basis. I might just kill me. πŸ™‚

    Linda
    http://ulleseit.wordpress.com
    http://flyinghorsebooks.wordpress.com

    • Donna L. Sadd March 27, 2013 at 5:27 pm #

      It looks lovely, but those hills always scare the heck out of me! Thanks for popping in Linda! :0)

    • Linda Ulleseit March 27, 2013 at 5:29 pm #

      Yeah, nothing’s worse than driving up so far the road disappears beneath you as it starts down the other side before your car does.

      πŸ™‚

    • Donna L. Sadd March 27, 2013 at 5:42 pm #

      OM freaking G! That does it; I guess I’ll have to appreciate the city through photos only. :0)

  6. Aria Glazki March 27, 2013 at 10:13 pm #

    It’s wonderful how sometimes a poem comes to us, isn’t it – almost proof enough that muses might just exist. Great poem as everyone’s said πŸ™‚

    & San Francisco’s not all that bad if you’re not the one behind the wheel… you can close your eyes, & the center is fairly flat!

    • Donna L. Sadd March 28, 2013 at 6:40 am #

      Many writer friends talk of their muses, but I’ve yet to meet mine. Though yesterday’s poem indeed flew out of my fingers, hmmm perhaps?
      Re San Fran, I’ll say it in my Brooklyn accent-fagedaboudit! :0)

    • Aria Glazki March 28, 2013 at 5:25 pm #

      I’m not sure about meeting a muse, but I have had a few moments when poetry just seemed to write itself, which is always fantastic πŸ™‚

      Good Brooklyn accent haha.

    • Donna L. Sadd March 28, 2013 at 5:57 pm #

      It’s funny, I recently read a blog post where the writer suggested writing a letter to ‘your’ muse inviting her/him in, address it to some wild address, put a stamp on it and mail it!

    • Aria Glazki March 28, 2013 at 6:02 pm #

      That sounds like a fun idea! Even if you weren’t to send the letter, but how interesting would it be to find a new ‘muse’ that way? And maybe a pen-pal πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

