#BlogFlash2013 – Day 20 – Education

28 Mar

EDUCATION

I’ve learned volumes since working to educate myself on picture books and writing in general. Lately, I began to assess my children’s story LUCCI- The No Smoochie Poochie, which I self-published in 2012.

PAGE 4

Though LUCCI has been well-received as a great bedtime story, I began picking my ‘primitive’  illustrations apart. I focused mainly on the ‘photo’ heads (my nieces and nephew), and started toying with the idea of re-illustrating several pages in the book (wishing I could do the entire book).

A family artist sketched cute faces for me, and I planned on using Photoshop to update the book. It’s a program I know nothing about, but figured I could teach myself to get the job done. I planned on devoting the rest of the year this weekend to work on the project.

NEW ART

However, on Tuesday, I discovered an interesting announcement.  Marisol Misenta aka ISOL, the winner of the ($780,000) Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award for children’s literature, uses child-like drawings which she says reflects her desire to show readers that it’s OK to break the rules.

Photo credit- noticias.iainformacion.com

Photo credit- noticias.iainformacion.com

I liked reading that! Many reviewers, say the art in LUCCI works well with the story. Children to whom I’ve read the story have said many times, “I could draw this!”  (*wink* little do they know a big ‘ole grownup drew them.)

After educating myself reading industry news, I decided that I just might leave the drawings alone!

11 Responses to “#BlogFlash2013 – Day 20 – Education”

  1. Sherry March 28, 2013 at 6:10 pm #

    I like the cartoon-like characters. They seem to go well with the fun title. I’ve been working with photoshop and good luck learning it in one weekend. It is a great photo program and I am learning it myself and think it is well worth the time. I am pretty much self taught about a lot of things, including the computer, which is why it takes me so long to get anything done on it. lol I am a very fast typist though. Very nice post.

    • Donna L. Sadd March 28, 2013 at 7:42 pm #

      I hear ya about things taking a long time to do, but it’s half the fun really. An illustrator-author friend did give me step-by-steps, and I worked with it a thousand years ago, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed. She also pointed out a reasonable basic program for digital painting http://folioacademy.com/sampleat.html , if you’re interested only $19.99, but I’m trying my hand at it first, but I don’t know whether I’ll make the changes. I think I’ll leave it like my mother liked it. How’s the blog coming along Sherry?

    • Sherry March 28, 2013 at 8:20 pm #

      I agree with the fun. I love doing it. Sometimes hours pass before I even realize it. The blog is coming along. I have it up, but no way for any one to follow me yet. Also haven’t got the sharing buttons going. I lost the media files too, so I am having to plug some things back in. A lot of corrections, but if you want to take a look the new url is http://www.fundinmental.com. I am making some posts that I committed to and bugging my computer guy like crazy. He said he would work on it tonight. I really miss WordPress. It was so easy to use and they gave you all the goodies ready to go. I still love blogging and can hardly wait to really get going. My sister, Laura, at fuonlyknew said she wanted to interview me when everything is ready and throw it out there to try and reconnect with all the followers I lost. I really appreciate you asking. ^_^

    • Donna L. Sadd March 28, 2013 at 9:59 pm #

      The site looks great. I didn’t know that you and Laura were sisters. Boy it’s a small world, two of my favorite people in one family. :0)

    • Sherry March 28, 2013 at 10:54 pm #

      Thanks Donna. Yeah, Laura is the one that got me involved in goodreads and blogging. In the summer, we get together almost every weekend and blog out by the pool. We are constantly teaching each other more things about the computer and blogging. We are both self-taught.

  2. Carlie M A Cullen March 28, 2013 at 7:46 pm #

    Sometimes the hankering to ‘tinker’ doesn’t always achieve the desired results. Whilst at other times it’s better not to try and improve on a winning combination. Your post highlights this in a positive way. Good for you, Donna! 🙂

    • Donna L. Sadd March 28, 2013 at 8:01 pm #

      Thanks a lot for that Carlie; I really appreciate it. :0)

  3. Gerri Bowen March 28, 2013 at 8:01 pm #

    I think you lucked out, Donna. Your first instinct was true, and now you needn’t tinker away the weekend!

    • Donna L. Sadd March 28, 2013 at 8:09 pm #

      I do too Gerri. Now I can tweak my new PB this weekend! :0)

  4. Mervi (tasselflower) March 28, 2013 at 8:04 pm #

    Sometimes the “primitive” style works the best. In many ways. Go for it!

    • Donna L. Sadd March 28, 2013 at 8:10 pm #

      Yep Mervi, I think I’ll leave it the way my mother knew it. :0)

Leave a Reply

