#NaPoWriMo – Day 6 – Frog – #Childrens #Poem

6 Apr
Good weekend to you!
#NaPoWriMo calls for a poem everyday for 30 days, so I’ll be posting through the weekends as well as weekdays for #AprilPrompts.
As the author of children’s rhyming picture book, LUCCI- The No Smoochie Poochie, and a member of Julie Hedlund’s 12 x 12 group, where we write a picture book every month for 12 months, my main focus is in writing for children. I’ll post a piece for kids on the weekends, and if a weekday prompt is appropriate.
.
Please read this rhyming poem to your little ones. I’d love to hear their opinions!

DAY 6 – FROG

Frog, frog

Jumped out of the bog

Onto the shore

Then onto a log

 

Frog, frog

Hopped from the log

Up to a tree

Then down on my knee.

 

Frog, frog

Sprang to an oak

Stared at my face

And started to croak

 

He croaked out a song

He croaked loud and long

It sounded like fun

So I sang along

 

Delightful frog, frog

Made me gay

Soon all my troubles

Just hopped away

photo-dawnandddarren.blogspot.com

Please check out our participant’s fine posts –
Candy Little
Warm Up Poems
Bubbly Tee

13 Responses to “#NaPoWriMo – Day 6 – Frog – #Childrens #Poem”

  1. Bubbly Tee April 6, 2013 at 11:28 am #

    I think my lil boy would like this poem alot. I like it also!! Great one; unique and fun! 🙂

  2. bluerabbit April 6, 2013 at 7:40 pm #

    Frog

    We caught him
    together, one
    afternoon, in
    a pool among
    some rocks,
    put him in a
    paper cup
    left over from
    lunch, sloshing
    only a little
    mossy water
    on the floor
    as we carried
    him to the kitchen
    and a Mason jar.
    When he sprouted
    little legs, even your
    big sister, who is
    always bored
    these days
    could not stay away
    and she helped us
    migrate him
    to a bowl with a
    river rock because
    she knew, though
    you did not, what
    was coming next.
    One morning,
    you woke us
    with all the
    amazement of
    Christmas in your
    voice, saying,
    “A frog!
    A frog!”

    • Donna L. Sadd April 7, 2013 at 7:50 am #

      Wonderful Linda! You words brought one of my favorite childhood memories front and center. My best friend and I used to pluck tadpoles out of puddles and do the same; it was the daily fly catching for froggy’s meals that was the most daunting…and fun. We were champion newt catchers too! :0)

  3. Sherry April 6, 2013 at 8:37 pm #

    Hey Donna. That was so cute, I grinned the whole time I was reading it. Don’t have any little ones, but I loved it!! Have a great weekend.

    • Donna L. Sadd April 7, 2013 at 7:52 am #

      Glad it made you smile Sherry. Have a great Sunday! :0)

  4. Aria Glazki April 7, 2013 at 12:46 am #

    So very cute! The little ones in my life don’t speak English, but if they did, I’m sure they’d love it 🙂

    • Donna L. Sadd April 7, 2013 at 7:57 am #

      Aha, that’s a reason publishers say they don’t want rhyme…it doesn’t translate. I noticed that your FB ‘like’ button is a French word- yes?

    • Aria Glazki April 7, 2013 at 2:58 pm #

      Oh no! I honestly thought Facebook changed that up depending on who saw it – thanks for telling me! I changed the code so it should be English now.. oops. (I keep my personal fb in French for the tiny amount of practice it affords me.)

      Yes, rhyme is difficult to translate; I think someone who does so successfully is as much an ‘author’ of the resulting work as the original author.

    • Donna L. Sadd April 7, 2013 at 6:26 pm #

      Yes, it would be starting the story over again. Thanks for popping in…saw that you submitted, but couldn’t comment at the time. I’ll be keeping you in my prayers-someone’s going to love it!

    • Aria Glazki April 8, 2013 at 1:53 am #

      Thanks for the very kind support, Donna! 🙂

      I keep thinking of this poem (maybe I’m seeing too many frogs around) and how it could translate haha. Excited to see your upcoming posts!

    • Donna L. Sadd April 8, 2013 at 6:20 am #

      One or three little frogs are nice but an EEW factor comes in with too many…Oooh, that could be cute! :0)

Leave a Reply

