#AprilPrompts – Day 6 – Growing – #Children

8 Apr

GROWING

photo- goodtoknow.co.uk

photo- goodtoknow.co.uk

Mommy, I am growing

It shows it on the wall

Daddy, I am growing

I’m growing big and tall

 

I’m one inch higher than

Last measured pencil line

Look, I’m truly growing

I’m growing fit and fine

 

My sneakers are tight

And so are my clothes

One thing not growing

Seems to be my nose

 

But my freckles look bigger

Sprinkled all over the place

If I had an eraser

I could wipe them off my face

 

Spots and all I’m growing

I’m rising through the airs

When I get much taller

We’ll measure me upstairs!

Carlie M A Cullen – Day 6

Bubbles From My Day – Day 6

12 Responses to “#AprilPrompts – Day 6 – Growing – #Children”

  1. bluerabbit April 8, 2013 at 1:02 pm #

    You have the seeds for a picture book here, or maybe a magazine poem.A great universal experience!

    Growing

    Through a rotting
    tangle of last year’s
    pale blades,
    new shoots
    struggle up
    toward the light,
    young and hopeful
    they tinge
    fallow fields
    an incomparable
    green.

    • Donna L. Sadd April 8, 2013 at 1:38 pm #

      Thanks for that Linda. On your advice, I’ll work it for this month’s PB.

      I can easily picture the fields springing to life; it’s happening in all the fields around where I live! :0)

  2. Carlie M A Cullen April 8, 2013 at 5:58 pm #

    Another great poem, Donna! Perhaps you should think about publishing a book of children’s poems! 🙂

    Here’s the link to my post today: http://wp.me/p1UhOl-Nn

    • Donna L. Sadd April 8, 2013 at 6:24 pm #

      Thanks Carlie; that’s not a bad idea, but I’d have to get much better first. :0)

  3. Aria Glazki April 8, 2013 at 8:38 pm #

    Correct me if I’m wrong, but these are freshly written, pretty much off the top of your head, right? So you’re already quite good! But poetry, like everything else, has to go through that whole editing thing…
    I agree – a collection of (illustrated?) children’s poetry should possibly worm itself into your plans!

    • Donna L. Sadd April 8, 2013 at 8:49 pm #

      Yep, they’re all off the top of my head, and yes, they’ve got to go through editing ad nauseum, especially with rhyme…to be ‘perfect.’ Yet, it won’t stop today’s comments from making me a bit me giddy anyway! Thanks Aria! :0)

    • Aria Glazki April 9, 2013 at 12:23 am #

      Well if you’d like to avoid the ad nauseum part, I know a good editor who helps with poetry in special cases 😉 But definitely embrace the giddiness! 🙂

    • Donna L. Sadd April 9, 2013 at 7:45 am #

      I would appreciate the chance to have an editor look at my poetry. I’m having trouble grasping meter, stressed/unstressed syllables, and the concept’s tough to put into practice by research alone.

    • Aria Glazki April 9, 2013 at 5:57 pm #

      Sometimes (silly as it sounds) problems of meter are seriously helped by walking as you read the poetry aloud – when the meter is off, you’ll hear it and/or stumble in your step. Or if you’re musical, you can try a metronome?

    • Donna L. Sadd April 9, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

      Ooh, I’ll try it. I’m laughing as I type because I can see myself falling all over the place! :0) Do you mean step with each syllable?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Write a Poem About Growing | Warm Up Poems - April 8, 2013

    […] #AprilPrompts – Day 6 – Growing – #Children | Donna L Sadd. […]

  2. #AprilPrompts – Day 20 – Love – #NaPoWriMo | Donna L Sadd - April 26, 2013

    […] We're almost at an ending, April's almost over. I'm feeling kind of heart-sick, I should be clover. The month has been quite busy, Creating posts each day. My mind went round in circles, As verses had their way. I'd love a steady chance to, Post poetry each day. But if I did continue, My hair would turn to grey. Will do random postings of, Poems from time to time. Free verse and my fave haiku, For kids, it will be rhyme. Thanks for all your sweet, kind words,   'Bout what I'd post that day. Am grateful to all of you, For bolstering my way. This challenge is soon ending. My schedule's almost clear. Wouldn't miss the chance to say, LOVE sharing with you here! [If you showed for poetry, Thank you, I am grateful. Wait till NaPoWriMo comes. See you all next April!] Related – #AprilPrompts – Day 6 – Growing – Children's Poem […]

Leave a Reply

