#AprilPrompts – Day 9 – THRILLER

11 Apr

I’m going way off today, but the prompt made me do it!

When I think of Thriller, for some reason my mind goes to chillerCHILLER THEATER that is. I’m obviously dating myself here, but I’m hoping some of you will recall a television series that showed B-horror movies late every Saturday night, well at least in New York back in the sixties it did.

My parents would do ‘date nights’, and Grandpa and Grandma would babysit my baby brother and me. (They lived right across the street from us on Long Island…a real-life Everybody Loves Raymond) I remember Gram hitting the sack early, but Grandpa and I would stay up late. Right before 11 o’clock, I’d climb in his lap, and he’d ask, “What time is it kid?”

In the most scary, deep-throated voice this little kid could muster, I’d reply, “It’s time for CHIIILLER…THEEEATER!” My grandfather actually let me stay up way past my bedtime to watch horror movies! How cool is that?

Half the time, I had my face hidden in his chest, but that didn’t matter because Grandpa could protect me from the monsters. My parents always admonished him upon returning, but he’d just wink at me, kiss me goodnight and tell me he’d see me in the morning.

Chiller Theater was a thriller alright, especially for a four-year old!

Don’t forget to check out my co-host Carlie M A Cullen’s post today; it’s a fun one.

Photo - happynerdjohn.blogspot.com

Photo – happynerdjohn.blogspot.com

Related –

Joy Keeney – Day 8 – Heart

Warm Up Poems – Day 10, #NaPoWriMo: Unlove

Warm Up Poems – Day 8 – A Poem About Heart

 

10 Responses to “#AprilPrompts – Day 9 – THRILLER”

  1. sherry fundin (@sherryfundin) April 11, 2013 at 9:54 am #

    That was great. Put a smile on my face. I have very found memories of my Grandmother. I remember going to her house and wearing her velour housecoat as if it was my wedding dress. Thanks for prompting that memory and putting a smile on my face. ^_^

    • Donna L. Sadd April 11, 2013 at 12:13 pm #

      I could picture it Sherry! Now your memory prompted a memory of my grandmother…playing with a huge tin filled with a gazillion beautiful buttons…it was like a treasure chest to me. With good memories and a fabulously sunny, cool morning, my day is now complete. :0)

  2. candylittle April 11, 2013 at 11:54 am #

    Aww!! What a great memory!!

  3. Joy Keeney April 11, 2013 at 9:49 pm #

    What a great memory and fun story!
    http://joykeeney.wordpress.com/2013/04/11/aprilprompts-day-9-thriller/

    • Donna L. Sadd April 12, 2013 at 7:04 am #

      Thanks Joy; I had fun writing it! :0)

  4. bluerabbit April 11, 2013 at 10:19 pm #

    Love this story : )

    • Donna L. Sadd April 12, 2013 at 9:21 am #

      Thanks for popping in Linda. :0)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #AprilPrompts – Day 11 – THRILLER | Donna L Sadd | Warm Up Poems - April 11, 2013

    […] #AprilPrompts – Day 9 – THRILLER | Donna L Sadd. […]

Leave a Reply

