#AprilPrompts – Day 10 – Loss – #NaPoWriMo

12 Apr

Today, I’m re-posting a poem that I wrote on my recently deceased mother’s birthday for #BlogFlash2012. When I think about loss, I think about her, and the pain’s still fresh.

GRAVEYARD

I spread your ashes, made a graveyard today.

I haven’t had a place to visit since you went away.

No vase for flowers, no headstone to brush

No feelings have I since I felt the crush

Of being told that you were no longer here,

I never fathomed losing one so dear.

But it’s for real, a cold, stark truth.

I’ve felt as helpless as a child, a poor defenseless youth.

It’s your birthday today, three days before my own.

Now I must forever face our special time missing you, alone.

 I thought about it long and hard,

And found a spot right in the yard,

Where vivid red cardinals and pure white doves

Fly down to fresh seed from branches above.

It’s quiet there; it’s got a swing,

and it abounds with living things.

I can sit with you now, you’re in this place.

Graveyard is the last thing one would think of the space.

Here are 2 prompts for this weekend’s #NaPoWriMo, if you wish to use them:

Saturday – WILD AT HEART

Sunday – JOURNEY

Related

Sharing My World, My Journey – Loss, Day 10 of NaPoWriMo

Joy Keeney – Day 9 – Thriller

16 Responses to “#AprilPrompts – Day 10 – Loss – #NaPoWriMo”

  1. sherry fundin (@sherryfundin) April 12, 2013 at 8:53 am #

    Brought tears to my eyes. I keep trying to write something else, but I just can’t find the words. I am very sorry for your loss.

    • Donna L. Sadd April 12, 2013 at 9:09 am #

      Thanks for your kind words Sherry; I’ve been moping around all week just thinking about this darn prompt. I knew it would mess with me, but Carlie’s post made me feel better.

    • sherry fundin (@sherryfundin) April 12, 2013 at 10:56 pm #

      I love how yours and Carlie’s posts seem to comment each other so well. I love the different angles you two approach things from. Makes me think about things and open my mind to different perspectives.

    • Donna L. Sadd April 13, 2013 at 7:58 am #

      That’s the fun thing about writing challenges; different points of view shown in this month’s #AprilPrompts alone have triggered several ideas for stories I might not have thought of had it not been for someone else’s post triggering a memory.

  2. Carlie M A Cullen April 12, 2013 at 12:18 pm #

    I love this poem, Donna, I can really connect with it. I’m so sorry for your loss and can fully understand how you feel, having lost my mum too. I’m glad my post helped you! Sending hugs your way!

    Here’s the link to mine: http://wp.me/p1UhOl-P1

    • Donna L. Sadd April 12, 2013 at 12:35 pm #

      Thanks Carlie, sending hugs your way too.

  3. Gerri Bowen April 12, 2013 at 1:05 pm #

    This was perfect, Donna.

  4. shanesbookblog April 12, 2013 at 2:52 pm #

    so very beautiful! I have tried to write a poem for my brother before but I never can bring myself to do it just yet. This gives me hope and strength though for sure, thank you for sharing this with us.

    • Donna L. Sadd April 12, 2013 at 4:13 pm #

      It was very hard to do, but cathartic as well…kind of gave me a way to rage in a quiet way. Thanks for your kind comment, and I’m very sorry for your loss Shane. :0(

  5. Joy Keeney April 12, 2013 at 9:46 pm #

    Beautiful poem Donna thank you for sharing.
    http://joykeeney.wordpress.com/2013/04/12/aprilprompts-day-10-loss/

  6. Aria Glazki April 13, 2013 at 3:36 am #

    Sorry for your loss, Donna. It’s unfortunate that it’s generally unacceptable to express our continued sense of loss, but I hope both writing and having this piece helps you.

    • Donna L. Sadd April 13, 2013 at 8:04 am #

      thanks Aria. I conveniently compartmentalize painful experiences to the back recesses of my mind, but sometimes a trigger will open the floodgates for a moment. It’s exactly why I re-posted an old piece; I didn’t want to re-visit by writing fresh.

    • Aria Glazki April 13, 2013 at 5:13 pm #

      Ah, denial…wonderful thing 🙂

  7. candylittle April 13, 2013 at 1:45 pm #

    Beautiful, Donna!!

    • Donna L. Sadd April 13, 2013 at 4:01 pm #

      Thanks Candy, great weekend to you! :0)

Leave a Reply

