#AprilPrompts – Day 17 – Searching – #NaPoWriMo #Children’s #Poem

23 Apr
SEARCHING

4-23-2013- #APRILPROMPTS - DAY 17- SEARCHING-MITT FACE

Every time I'm on the mound
My heart does a flutter.
Tuning out the crowd's loud sound.
My stomach's churning butter.

Focusing, I look around,
The players are all set.
Catcher's flashing signals out,
Don't like his choices yet.

One finger stands for fast balls.
Two fingers stand for curves.
Batter sneers, to fake me out.
I've got to steel my nerves.

Each ball hurled becomes a strike.
Their dugout starts to hiss.
Scoreboard charts each perfect pitch.
I sure do live for this!

Last batter's set and ready.
It's a swing and a miss.
Got that player out of there.
Pitchers dream of doing this!

I owned it, I pulled it off.
It was a perfect day.
I will always hit the mound,
In search of Special 'K'!

This post’s photo credits – http://www.thecompletepitcher.com

Articles –

Carlie M A Cullen – Day 17 – Searching (Taste of HEART SEARCH:LOST)

Laura Salas – “The Guy in the Closet” (Heidi Bee Roemer)

11 Responses to “#AprilPrompts – Day 17 – Searching – #NaPoWriMo #Children’s #Poem”

  1. sherry fundin (@sherryfundin) April 23, 2013 at 8:13 am #

    Very nice. I am curious, how long does it take for you to write the poems for April Prompts? You make it look easy. I think they are very good and I enjoy them a lot.

    • Donna L. Sadd April 23, 2013 at 9:30 am #

      It varies Sherry. Sometimes they write themselves in a blink, and other times I’ll work on it throughout the day. I try to write the piece a day before it’s due; so I can leave it and then come back to it in the morning to tighten it before posting. I’ve rhymed since I was a child, so it comes naturally to me. ;0)

  2. Bubbly Tee April 23, 2013 at 9:52 am #

    aww, i loved this! It warmed my heart and reminds me of the boys in my family, al of whom played baseball. I miss those days of my youth when we’d go watch them play, eat snowcones, and enjoy the prety days of spring.

    good job on this one!

    • Donna L. Sadd April 23, 2013 at 10:52 am #

      Snowcones?…now you’re speaking my language! :0)

    • Bubbly Tee April 23, 2013 at 10:59 am #

      I believe we are from the same part of the world, arent we?! 🙂

    • Donna L. Sadd April 23, 2013 at 5:42 pm #

      Yep, I think so; I’m in Texas…snow cones just take me back.

  3. Carlie M A Cullen April 23, 2013 at 5:14 pm #

    I really enjoyed this despite us not really having baseball in the UK! 🙂

    Here’s the link to my post for today: http://wp.me/p1UhOl-11r

    • Donna L. Sadd April 23, 2013 at 5:38 pm #

      Kids shooting for the stars works I guess, thanks Carlie.

      Our month is soon coming to a close, and I feel weird about approaching the last few prompts…don’t think Betrayal and Guilt will work too well for kids :0(

    • Aria Glazki April 26, 2013 at 3:11 am #

      I’m behind on reading your posts, so my perspective with this comment is off, but you definitely turned “guilt” into a great children’s prompt 😉

      Also, this is a nice piece – really putting (even those of) us (who know almost nothing about baseball) into the pitcher’s mind.

    • Donna L. Sadd April 26, 2013 at 9:41 am #

      Thanks Aria, I appreciate your taking the time to read my posts. :0)

  4. Donna L. Sadd September 22, 2016 at 7:24 am #

    Reblogged this on Donna L Sadd and commented:

    Been gone too long, and thought to re-blog some old writings to stir up the creative juices. Hi y’all! :0)

Leave a Reply

