100 Days of Summer – New Writing Challenge

25 May
photo credit - journalbuddies.com

photo credit – journalbuddies.com

If you follow my blog, you already know that I’m a sucker for writing challenges. Sooo, I’m doing a happy dance because fellow 12 x 12 Picture Book Group participant, Shannon Abercrombie, is hosting the 100 Days of Summer writing challenge. Whoopee!

The goal is to write every day during the lazy, hazy days of summer, from Memorial Day to Labor Day. Using a given prompt, daily objectives could be to write a page, a paragraph or an opening line, that should only take 3 – 8 minutes to complete. Feel free to join in the fun.

Wish me luck; I’m diving in – KERSPLASH!

credit - gettyimages.com

credit – gettyimages.com

15 Responses to “100 Days of Summer – New Writing Challenge”

  1. James Garcia Jr May 25, 2013 at 12:55 pm #

    Hi, Donna. It’s been too long! You sound well. I hope so. Enjoy that summer challenge, my friend. I wish I was creating. Sadly, I’ll be spending the summer promoting my latest. Thanks to my 12 hours day job, there isn’t time in the day for much else. Take care and enjoy that summer. *big waves*

    -Jimmy
    http://jamesgarciajr.blogspot.com/

    • Donna L. Sadd May 25, 2013 at 1:42 pm #

      Nice to hear from you Jimmy. When is Dance on Fire’s release date? I’d be happy to help promote it, just let me know. :0) Going to read the excerpt on your blog now…

    • James Garcia Jr May 25, 2013 at 1:48 pm #

      Hello again. Thanks for asking about my book. You may have noticed already, but “Dance” was my first one. My latest e-book is “Seeing Ghosts”. It has it’s big release on June 3rd. No worries. We know way too many people and it’s hard to keep track of all the details. Right? 🙂

    • Donna L. Sadd May 25, 2013 at 1:53 pm #

      I figured that out when I went back to read the excerpt, got it. I marked my calendar to tweet. Good Luck with the launch! :0)

  2. Bubbly Tee May 25, 2013 at 1:32 pm #

    Can’t wait to read these. Write s of yurs

    • Donna L. Sadd May 25, 2013 at 1:43 pm #

      Thanks Tonia, I’m chomping at the bit to get going. Writing prompts sure do help keep these batteries charged. :0)

  3. Jemima Pett May 25, 2013 at 2:10 pm #

    Memorial Day is this Monday, right? I don’t think I can do this one, although it sounds really fun. – too many other things on at present, and then there’s Camp NaNoWriMo in July. Just released the fifth in the Princelings series, as you probably saw.
    Good luck with the challenge – I’ll look forward to reading your musings 🙂

    • Donna L. Sadd May 25, 2013 at 4:13 pm #

      Thanks Jemima, and congrats on The Talent Seekers. I’m not familiar with Camp NaPoWriMo; does it aide to prep one for November? I crashed and burned with only 4,000wc on my first NaPoWriMo. :0)

    • Jemima Pett May 25, 2013 at 5:53 pm #

      Unless I did a typo It’s NaNoWriMo – Novel, rather than Poem. I think they started the ‘Camp’ idea to fit with those of us that prefer to write a book in the summer. (November is always too hectic for me)! They put us in cabins, too!

  4. The Goat Granny May 26, 2013 at 7:38 am #

    wow Donna!
    Maybe I should do this. I find that my blog gets neglected when I get real busy & boy have I been busy!
    Watching my granddaughter full time, raising goats, milking a cow & caring for a calf, greenhouse & garden work, my Skrap Happy business online & sadly lastly seems to come my family (cooking seems to be where they get neglected the most during warm weather), it seems like updating my Facebook page(s) is about the easiest route to go!
    SO what’da think? Should I take this challenge? HA! Do I have time?
    Glad to see you are.

    • The Goat Granny May 26, 2013 at 7:40 am #

      I look forward to your posts!

    • Donna L. Sadd May 26, 2013 at 8:27 am #

      You are a BUSY lady, Michelle, and I love tuning in to the crazy antics of your farm because I’d love to be doing what you do-it’s my dream. You’re Facebook presence is fabulous, and pulling folks to your blog should keep them there to shop. I know I’ve been hankering to get your soaps myself :0)

      Give the challenge a shot, supposedly it’s a challenge that should only take a few minutes with a paragraph, page or opening line. I find that daily prompts get my juices flowing for the rest of the day, and it ensures that I’m writing every day. This particular challenge has weekly prizes too, which is a plus.

      I’ll be looking out for your posts, and give Traci cow a big ‘ol kiss for me. :0)

    • The Goat Granny May 29, 2013 at 8:38 am #

      hahaha I have already missed the boat!
      BUT Traci has been kissed and she said THANK YOU DONNA!
      I have so many soaps that I need to get packaged & I always need a guinea pig that will provide feedback!! Send me a message.. oh
      I better go get my prompt!

    • Donna L. Sadd May 29, 2013 at 12:02 pm #

      Done. :0)

  5. Gerri Bowen May 26, 2013 at 12:40 pm #

    I know you will do well, Donna! I enjoyed the Haiku challenge you shared with us. 🙂

Leave a Reply

