Prompt #3 – 100 Days of Summer Writing Challenge

29 May

Hiya,

I didn’t post yesterday because it regarded a work in progress, but I wanted to include it here for continuity…Nah, I just didn’t want y’all to think that I blew it off. :0)

[Prompt #2:     Think about a character (not the protagonist) central to the plot of your story.  Write a scene from his/her perspective.  How does the scene change?  How does the tone change?  Does this perspective shift allow you to explore the conflict from a surprising or more powerful perspective?]

Okay, off to Prompt #3…

Image - vmphotography.blogspot. com

Image – vmphotography.blogspot.
com

Prompt #3: Write about a moment in your past that lives in infamy for you.

This isn’t terribly embarrassing now, but it was the day it happened that will make the experience live in infamy– My wedding day!

When my just-about-to-be-husband and I were up at the altar, and our pastor got to the exchanging of rings, I insisted on putting the wedding ring on my husband’s right hand.

At my first attempt, my husband smiled and subtlety extended his left hand, but I grabbed for his right. Then he tried it again, but I was so fixated that it should go on the other hand that I shook my head, pushed his left hand away and again, reached for his right.

Finally, he grabbed my ring-holding hand, literally pointed the ring to his left-hand ring finger and slid it on himself. Needless, to say, this faux pas had the guests rolling in the isles. Later at the reception, they all joked that we had our first argument of married life at the altar!

That darn experience not only lives in infamy in my mind, they got it on video!

Take the challenge yourself over at Shannon Abercrombie’s blog.

14 Responses to “Prompt #3 – 100 Days of Summer Writing Challenge”

  1. Gerri Bowen May 29, 2013 at 1:40 pm #

    That’s is actually a really cute story, Donna. We do get nervous up there. 🙂

    • Donna L. Sadd May 29, 2013 at 4:42 pm #

      We sure do, Gerri. Thanks for tweeting it. :0)

  2. sherry fundin May 29, 2013 at 2:11 pm #

    What a great story. I love it. ^_^

    • Donna L. Sadd May 29, 2013 at 4:42 pm #

      Thanks, Sherry, and for the tweet too. ;0)

    • sherry fundin May 31, 2013 at 4:43 pm #

      Thanks Donna for sending me to Lana’s. You guys really crack me up. lol

    • Donna L. Sadd May 31, 2013 at 4:47 pm #

      Sherry, I think she is one to watch. Though I’ve just met her through the challenge, that dry humor just kills me! Glad you like her too, and great weekend to ‘ya :0)

    • sherry fundin May 31, 2013 at 4:50 pm #

      Thanks Donna. Have a great weekend.

  3. Sue Black May 29, 2013 at 2:31 pm #

    LOVE it!

  4. Lana Voynich May 29, 2013 at 4:23 pm #

    Awww! So cute! At my wedding, the minister mispronounced my name. :-/

    • Donna L. Sadd May 29, 2013 at 5:00 pm #

      I got one better; a few months after ours, we found out that our pastor left because he was embezzling from our church. I thought I found a loop hole. :0)

      Just got done commenting on your site and I’ve got to link it here. http://www.lanavoynich.com/2013/05/100-days-of-summer-day-3/#.UaZpTEDVCSo.

      Anyone reading this, if you want to laugh your socks off, just click to go to Lana’s response to this prompt. :0)

    • Lana Voynich May 29, 2013 at 5:46 pm #

      Thanks for linking, Donna. 🙂

      Embezzling pastors kinda makes me wonder about the fate of the world…

  5. candylittle May 29, 2013 at 10:31 pm #

    Very funny story, Donna. I love your pic. You looks ao beautiful!!

    • Donna L. Sadd May 30, 2013 at 6:13 am #

      Aw shucks, thanks, Candy. :0)

Leave a Reply

