Prompt #7 – Sensory Sunday – 100 Days of Summer

2 Jun

Prompt #7: Sit outside for five minutes and listen to the world outside your doors.  After a five minutes, write down everything you observed.  It can be a list, scribbled notes, a story, or a poem.  Just let the world speak to you.

I popped my head out the front door to quiet down my barking basset hounds. After they hushed, the silence crept in with a bang.

Dawn hosted a cacophony of birds, warming up their vocal chords in preparation for the day. No one was flying yet, but our winged neighbors were certainly awake and welcoming the new day. A rooster was at his post and sounding out his wake up call in the distance. I imagine this particular fellow to be an older gent because he’s usually a bit late and his cock-a-doodle-doos are wobbly and crusty-sounding.

The clouds are a flannel grey, with one small tease of sky that tells me it will probably be overcast today-  good. Soft moos waft in on a breeze from the farm down the street. The breeze leaves a cool touch on my skin; hopefully, it will last and my pet goats will remain as comfortable as they are now.

The Guinea Hens have started to arrive for breakfast.

10 Responses to “Prompt #7 – Sensory Sunday – 100 Days of Summer”

  1. candylittle June 2, 2013 at 6:53 pm #

    Great peice, Donna. I feel like I’m sitting right there with you. What a beautiful morning!!

    • Donna L. Sadd June 3, 2013 at 6:16 am #

      Thanks, Candy; thankfully, I’m up early enough for most of my mornings to start the same way. It’s my favorite time of day- noisy silence. :0)

  2. fuonlyknew June 3, 2013 at 7:47 am #

    Would have loved to have been there to see the guineas. Felt like I was:)
    I sit outside each morning with my coffee and kindle and just enjoy the sights, sounds, and smells. So many shades of green, colorful flowers, scent of fresh mown grass and salt air. Need to go out there now!

    • Donna L. Sadd June 3, 2013 at 10:39 am #

      You got me at ‘salt air.’ Where about are you Laura? I grew up on both the North and South shores of Long Island, then So. FL, and the smell of salt air being out on the water is the one thing I miss more than anything. Enjoy it for me too! :0)

    • fuonlyknew June 3, 2013 at 10:19 pm #

      I’m on the Gulf Coast of Alabama, right on Mobile Bay. I live in a beautiful single tax colony filled with artists and writers.

    • Donna L. Sadd June 4, 2013 at 6:03 am #

      Sounds like a perfect spot, Laura. The air must ZING with salt-scented ideas. :0)

  3. lanavoynich June 3, 2013 at 7:01 pm #

    I love your morning, Donna. Some day, when I get enough sleep, I’d like to be an early riser.

  4. Sue Black June 4, 2013 at 8:11 am #

    So enjoyed reading your early morning rise reflections. Wonderful!

    • Donna L. Sadd June 4, 2013 at 8:58 am #

      Thanks, Sue; I’m glad you liked it. :0)

Leave a Reply

