Prompt #9 – 100 Days of Summer – Competition – Poem

4 Jun

Prompt # 9: Write a short scene in which your protagonist is engaged in a competition.  The competition can be anything you want it to be (a spelling bee, the soccer field, the court room, family game night).  The only rule is it must stretch your character.

Think about your character’s attitude, body language and voice.  Consider how your character would react to winning, losing or being prevented from competing.   Depending on the age of your character it may be appropriate to write this scene as a flashback or a dream.  The main goal is to get to know your character in a way that stretches you as a writer and them on the page.

image- mlive.com

Image- mlive.com

They said that I can't enter,
To run the race today.
My humans had something to say about that.
In the lineup is where I'll stay.

All they see is tiny,
But I'm a mighty boy, I am.
Let them try to pass me by,
Ahead is where I'll scram.

They'll wheeze as I whiz by them.
In the dust they'll drop, as I fly.
They all only see short legs,
It's my strength that they can't spy. 

I can run with the big dogs.
Let them think that I'm no threat.
Start the gun, raise the flag,
I'll be the fastest pet!

The flag is flashed, I dash.
I'm out in front of the pack.
I peek behind to notice,
One mutt is at my back.

For a second there he passes.
Then I give it the juice and jump.
I'm out ahead by dog lengths.
You can't beat me you big chump.

I did it, I just won!
I crossed finish line first.
Now would someone get me a drink?
This champion's dying of thirst.
Image- houstonpettalk.com

Image- houstonpettalk.com

 

Do yourself a favor and drop over to Lana Voynich’s blog. One can usually bet on having a good laugh. :0)

3 Responses to “Prompt #9 – 100 Days of Summer – Competition – Poem”

  1. sherry fundin June 4, 2013 at 10:18 am #

    HAHAHAHHAHAHAHA!!!!! That is so cute and funny. Great job Donna.

    • Donna L. Sadd June 4, 2013 at 10:24 am #

      This is another one that wrote itself, Sherry. I read the prompt, a little doxi popped to mind, which is easy as I have two, then five minutes later- whoops there it is! Glad you liked it. :0)

  2. lanavoynich June 4, 2013 at 4:34 pm #

    I love it. You’re very good at creating an image in my mind, which is remarkable because I’m not very visual most of the time.

    Thanks for the plug about my silly posts. 😉

Leave a Reply

