Month of #Poetry – A Date with Broccoli – #MoP14 – #Kid’s Stuff

5 Jan
Image- Marks Daily Apple

Image- Marks Daily Apple


A DATE WITH BROCCOLI

 

Mom said I have until,

The clock’s big hand strikes 3.

Finish all my veggies?

You might as well shoot me.

 

I can’t stand broccoli!

Don’t know why it grows.

It’s only here to torture kids.

To make ’em squirm, not grow.

 

The kitchen is empty.

I sit here all alone.

The clock has ticked, that is it.

It’s up to bed I groan.

 

I’d rather go to bed,

Than eat those yucky things.

Of all the food Mom had to cook,

Why not chicken wings?

— Donna L Sadd, all rights reserved


1-5-2014- NoBroccoli

4 Responses to “Month of #Poetry – A Date with Broccoli – #MoP14 – #Kid’s Stuff”

  1. sherry fundin January 5, 2014 at 9:27 am #

    I remember my Dad making me sit at the table until I finished my dinner. Those minutes definitely seemed like hours. Thanks for the “fond” memories. LOL I miss my dad. ^_^

    • Donna L. Sadd January 5, 2014 at 10:58 am #

      Tell me about it. Lima beans would get me going to bed early every time. I initially wrote the poem about lima beans, but do they even sell them anymore? I went to find images for ‘kid hates lima beans’, but nothing showed. so it became broccoli. Maybe it was a 60s veggy. ;0)

  2. fuonlyknew January 7, 2014 at 4:50 pm #

    I’m with Sherry! We shared the same dad. My nemesis was mashed potatoes and boy they are nasty when cold!

    • Donna L. Sadd January 7, 2014 at 4:54 pm #

      It’s funny how something can zap one right back in time, isn’t it? Even remembering how worse everything tasted cold. We should have just choked it down to watch TV! :0)

Leave a Reply

