Month of Poetry – Pirate Ships – Children’s #Poem #MoP14

6 Jan
Coloring Page- Click on image

Coloring Page- Click on image

Pirate Ships

Love to sail my pirate ship,

The sea’s my sudsy tub.

Pretend I’m stealing treasure,

As I scrub, and rub a dub.

 

My men are brave and able.

Today they swab the decks.

They gab about and wonder,

What town we’ll pillage next.

 

Suddenly a ship appeared,

It flew a skull and bones

If we didn’t think real fast.

We’d sleep with Davy Jones.

 

When the ship got close to ours,

My men jumped right on deck,

Took the captain by the arms,

And held him tight in check.

 

In turn, our ship was boarded.

I ran to join my crew.

Swords and fists flew everywhere.

How would it end? Who knew?

 

When we thought all might be lost,

My doggie splashed right in.

The enemy ship was tipped.

Hurray, hurrah! We win!


 

First Draft–Donna L Sadd, all rights reserved

1-6-2014- dog in tub

8 Responses to “Month of Poetry – Pirate Ships – Children’s #Poem #MoP14”

  1. Juliana Lee January 6, 2014 at 11:12 am #

    The hero at the end has me smiling!

    • Donna L. Sadd January 6, 2014 at 11:48 am #

      Glad it left you smiling, Juliana. :0)

  2. Jemima Pett January 6, 2014 at 11:47 am #

    This is absolutely marvellous, Donna! It would make a great picture book, I’m sure.

    • Donna L. Sadd January 6, 2014 at 11:50 am #

      Thanks so much, Jemima! I love, love, love pirates! ;0)

  3. sherry fundin January 7, 2014 at 10:44 am #

    WOW! I love all your poems so far, but this one might be my fave. I love the hero, I am partial to dogs. Keep up the great work and…..I will be back. ^_^

    • Donna L. Sadd January 7, 2014 at 11:04 am #

      Pop in anytime, Sherry! Thanks for your kind words. :0)

  4. fuonlyknew January 7, 2014 at 4:49 pm #

    I’m charmed! Man’s best friend to the rescue!

Leave a Reply

