Month of Poetry – Cold Worries – #Poem – #MoP14

7 Jan

Going a bit off the grid…’cause baby, it’s cold outside…

cold babies

COLD WORRIES

 

Temperatures have plummeted.

We’re dealing with great cold.

Digging out and cancelled planes,

How fast it soon grows old.

 

Four-footed friends don’t know from cold.

Our pets go out then come back in.

But livestock are stuck in it.

Much to folks’ chagrin.

 

Not everyone has farm buddies,

Or knows an outside pet.

But on a day like recent days,

It gives me cause to fret.

 

I live in hilly in Texas.

With two pet goats outdoors.

I’ve spent each day worrying.

Neglecting all the chores.

 

It’s hard to keep them bundled.

Can’t bring them both inside.

Housebreaking’s not an option.

It doesn’t work, I’ve tried.

 

Hot oatmeal is delivered with,

Sweet water on the hour.

I wish I had a heated barn.

Only wish I had the power…

 

To keep them warm and cuddly,

Throughout each sub freeze day.

My only prayer when I awake,

Is that they’ll be okay.

–First Draft- Donna L Sadd, all rights reserved

1-7-2014- DIXIE COLD

8 Responses to “Month of Poetry – Cold Worries – #Poem – #MoP14”

  1. fuonlyknew January 7, 2014 at 4:47 pm #

    Poor sweet babies. I think with the warm oatmeal, blankets and cuddling together, they will be okay. It should be over after tomorrow.

    • Donna L. Sadd January 7, 2014 at 4:52 pm #

      I call them my warrior queens! I honestly don’t know how they do it. I go out all bundled up, hat, gloves, and I whine when I get in the house. They just take it quietly. :0)

  2. sherry fundin January 8, 2014 at 2:02 pm #

    They look like they were happy to see you. I’m sure they appreciate the extra layer over their fur coat and the roof over their head.

    • Donna L. Sadd January 8, 2014 at 2:44 pm #

      I hope they do, Sherry…just wish I could win lotto and buy them a heated/AC barn. That’s where I’d write too. 😉

    • sherry fundin January 8, 2014 at 2:52 pm #

      I’m sure they would appreciate your company. Maybe they would have some input?

    • Donna L. Sadd January 8, 2014 at 2:55 pm #

      They’d probably eat the output and chew on the laptop! :0)

  3. sherry fundin January 9, 2014 at 2:29 pm #

    They do seem mischievous with that gleam I see in their eyes. lol

    • Donna L. Sadd January 9, 2014 at 3:06 pm #

      Oh, they can be for sure! ;0)

Leave a Reply

