Month of Poetry – Snowball Bullies – Children’s #Poem – #MoP14

8 Jan
Artist- Gabor Toth

Artist- Gabor Toth

SNOWBALL BULLIES

I don’t want to walk to school,

Crunch through snow and slide on streets.

Wrapped up like a mummy,

Puffy coat instead of sheets.

 

Bullies waiting down the block,

To cover me with snow.

I can’t go to school today.

Please don’t make me go!

 

What? You say you’ll walk me?

Why not scold me first?

I’d prefer a talking-to.

Being laughed at, that’s the worst!

 

Okay, I am going,

to try another route to school.

Through the woods and up the hill.

Being chicken ain’t so cool.

 

Nuts, I’ve been outsmarted.

They are right at School House Gate.

Cringing down, I duck my head.

I shiver and I wait.

 

What’s the funny sound,

Whizzing right above my head?

Bully boys went running,

‘Cause they hit the dean instead!   

 —First Draft- Donna L Sadd, all rights reserved

Thanks for popping in!

I wanted to add a disclaimer if I may. These poems are no way in a million years far from submission ready pieces. But the more one writes, the more one learns, and that’s where I am with rhyme. That’s why I take up these challenges.

There’s a whole science behind it…rhythm, meter, scansion. I’ve been studying it, and working hard to get the ‘knack’ of it. But banging them out in a day doesn’t give me enough time to polish them as much as I’d like to.  

I truly appreciate your kind words of encouragement; it keeps me going! I would love it if you’d suggest prompts for kids’ poems that you’d like me to write about. It could keep my juices flowing and help me hit the mark.

Thanks so much for your kind support.

Best, Donna :0)

15 Responses to “Month of Poetry – Snowball Bullies – Children’s #Poem – #MoP14”

  1. Carlie M A Cullen January 8, 2014 at 10:32 am #

    Hey Donna!

    I’m loving these poems (even if I don’t always comment)!

    A few ideas for you: Video Games; Sibling Rivalry; A mischievous new kitten; bugs; superheroes. Any good??

    • Donna L. Sadd January 8, 2014 at 10:54 am #

      Hi, Carlie…nice to see you here! No worries on commenting, and hugs for the great prompts! :0)

  2. sherry fundin January 8, 2014 at 2:41 pm #

    I love your poems, ready or not. lol

    • Donna L. Sadd January 8, 2014 at 2:45 pm #

      Thanks, Sherry. I can always count on you!!!! ❤ ❤

  3. fuonlyknew January 8, 2014 at 9:23 pm #

    Boy does this bring back memories. Another thing we used to do was wait for someone to walk under a tree and then kick it, dumping copious amounts of snow on some poor kid!
    How about a poem about the mysterious creature, the kid on summer break that only comes out of his room after everyone is asleep. I’m working on a short fiction similar to that.

    • Donna L. Sadd January 8, 2014 at 9:27 pm #

      Oooh, sounds creepy, Laura, which I know is right up your alley. I gotta think on this…I don ‘t believe in spooks; I don’t believe in spooks! :O(

    • fuonlyknew January 8, 2014 at 9:39 pm #

      Part of my story is about the crumbs and debris left on the counter when you know it wasn’t there when you went to bed. I’ve been laughing while I’ve been brainstorming:)

    • Donna L. Sadd January 8, 2014 at 9:43 pm #

      Mice? 😉

    • fuonlyknew January 8, 2014 at 9:44 pm #

      Nope. A teenager!

    • Donna L. Sadd January 8, 2014 at 9:54 pm #

      Who knows he’s there, anyone? Parents?

    • fuonlyknew January 8, 2014 at 10:25 pm #

      Me. But he only comes out after I’ve gone to bed! It’s my son:)

    • Donna L. Sadd January 8, 2014 at 10:32 pm #

      For Pete’s sake, how’d I miss the missing son in the house? Sheesh, makes me think of my own teenage brother who made his room in the basement. We knew he was home, but we never saw him either for huge amounts of time! Sounds like a great MG novel, Laura! Keep me posted. Sleep tight. 😉

    • sherry fundin January 9, 2014 at 2:36 pm #

      You guys had me cracking up. Your conversation almost sounds like a story itself. LOL

    • Donna L. Sadd January 9, 2014 at 3:09 pm #

      I know, that was too funny! I want to be a beta reader for that story! :0)

    • sherry fundin January 9, 2014 at 11:03 pm #

      LOL

Leave a Reply

