Month of Poetry – PLEASE COME – #Poem – #ASPCA

18 Jan
 1-18-2014- cold cat

PLEASE COME

Someone, can you hear me,

Cry inside this shed?

When they first took me home,

I had a fancy bed.

 

It was Christmas time and,

To the pet store people came.

They hugged and cuddled me,

I even got a name!

 

But the holidays snuffed out.

Then the kids began to pout,

“Who’s gonna feed him?”

“Who’s gonna let him out?”

 

“I’m too little.” “I’m in a rush.”

“Figure it out,” Dad said.

When no one even bothered,

I wound up in this shed.

 

Someone, please pick me up,

And find a family,

Who’ll take the time, make a pledge,

Of responsibility.

 

Sure, it seems like fun,

Finding a pet under the tree.

But, some don’t take good care.

Please, come and rescue me!

Image - Sey Suomen

Image – Sey Suomen

Why not start the year off right? Support the ASPCA or your local animal shelter today.

Donate Today


3 Responses to “Month of Poetry – PLEASE COME – #Poem – #ASPCA”

  1. sherry fundin January 18, 2014 at 2:20 pm #

    It breaks my heart to see that. Excellent poem to get the point across. They are God’s creatures and deserve our respect.

    • Donna L. Sadd January 19, 2014 at 9:34 am #

      Thanks, Sherry. Those commercials break me down every time, and one day I just couldn’t get it out of my head so I wrote about it. :0)

  2. fuonlyknew January 20, 2014 at 9:23 pm #

    I had to leave and come back to this Donna. My heart hurts when I think of God’s precious creatures being so unloved. I truly believe animals have their place in heaven and a soul. Just look in their eyes.

Leave a Reply

