HEALTHY DOG BISCUITS AND BONES YOU BAKE AT HOME! – PET D.I.Y. PROJECT

27 Apr

My dieting Coonhound Bella has arrived at her goal weight! Now that she’s fit, my thoughts to find healthy dog treats led me down memory lane to Camp Bowser.

D.I.Y. PET PROJECT- HEALTHY DOG BONES/BISCUITS

I operated Camp Bowser Pet Retreat out of my home and ‘campers’ of any species were welcome. Dogs, cats, birds, fish, bunnies, guinea pigs, hamsters, and even several snakes enjoyed their own vacations while their families were away. Campers always departed with send-off gifts. Dogs received goodie bags of home-baked healthy dog bones.

CAMP BOWSER CAMPERS

That’s when I thought to make up a batch of healthy dog biscuits and do another ‘how-to’ blog post for all my animal loving friends.  So don your aprons gang and whip up these healthy, home-made dog biscuits for your four-footed loves! Dollars to donuts you’ll have everything you need in-house.

DOG BONE INGREDIENTS

Ingredients:

2 Teaspoons dry yeast

1/2 Cup lukewarm water

2 Tablespoons chopped parsley

2 Tablespoons minced garlic*

1 1/2 Cups chicken stock*

3 Tablespoons honey (Don’t mess with a measuring spoon (literally), just squeeze into mixture eyeballing it.)

1 Egg

5-6 Cups whole wheat flour  (I apologize. I underestimated how much w.w. flour I had in the pantry, so I had to switch to flour.)

* “An occasional low dose, [of onions, garlic and chives] such as what might be found in pet foods or treats, likely will not cause a problem, but we recommend that you do NOT give your pets large quantities of these foods.”  This point was brought up in a comment by Sugar B, who recommended using home-made chicken stock.

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. (180 C.)

In a large bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water. Stir in the parsley, garlic, chicken stock, honey and egg.

Gradually blend in flour, adding enough to form a stiff dough.

FORM A STIFF DOUGH

Transfer to a floured surface and knead until smooth (about 3-5 minutes). Shape the dough into a ball.

HOME MADE DOG BONES

Roll to 1/4 inch thickness.

ROLL DOUGH QUARTER INCH THICKNESS

Cut out the dog biscuits using small bone-shaped cookie cutter, or any cookie cutter really. (Hint-Coat the cutter with non-stick cooking spray. This will eliminate a dough sticking nightmare!) Gather up the scraps, roll out again and cut additional bones.

Transfer to ungreased baking sheets, spacing the dog biscuits about 1/4 inch apart.

Bake for 30 minutes. (In between batches, invert a mixing bowl to cover your dough and keep it moist.)

INVERT A BOWL OVER THE DOUGH TO KEEP IT MOIST

After 30 minutes remove from oven, turn over biscuits and cook an additional 15 minutes or until lightly browned on both sides. Let cool overnight. (You can take all the dog bones and dump them on one baking sheet and set them in the oven to overnight. Doing so will make for crisper, crunchier dog biscuits.

[Word of Caution: Don’t do what I did and preheat the oven for dinner without removing the tray-arrrrg!]

I got a whopping 10 dozen small dog biscuits out of this batch. They keep and freeze well and your dogs will have plenty of home-made dog bones for some time to come. Why not knock out a batch for your dogs this weekend?

I’m going to bag some up to give out to our neighbor’s dogs. I’m also going to tuck this idea in the back of my head to use as unique and thoughtful host/hostess holiday gift for my dog loving friends.

I searched online for a dog bone biscuit recipe that was close to the one I used at Camp Bowser and I found it at Bullwrinkle.com. Please take a look at the site for other baked dog treat recipes and dog related items.

Bella (seen below…using a shot of her eating a dog bone would have hidden her pretty face), and Star my basset loved the bones.

The bones were too big for my little dachshund Luca, however; while skipping around the Internet I came across a plethora of dog bone cookie cutters in various sizes and special cutters for most dog breeds!

Between you and me gang, if the dogs don’t like them you might! They taste like crunchy bread sticks I swear 😉 I’d just throw in more garlic and parsley…maybe even Parmesan!

For another fun D.I.Y. pet project check out my post “Fab Vintage Suitcase Dog Cat Pet Bed-D.I.Y. Project” and whip up a snazzy pet bed in hours.

In closing, please consider downloading or ordering a print copy of LUCCI THE NO SMOOCHIE POOCHIE. A book makes a great gift for a child! Thanks for suggesting it your friends and family.

So tell me, who has the guts to comment that they ate dog biscuits when they were kids?

Related Articles:

Recipe for ‘Mutt Balls’ for Valentine’s Day

5 Responses to “HEALTHY DOG BISCUITS AND BONES YOU BAKE AT HOME! – PET D.I.Y. PROJECT”

  1. SUGAR B January 31, 2013 at 11:07 pm #

    but garlic and onions are very toxic to dogs.chicken broth is full of salt , onion and garlic go for chicken stock, very easy to make.

    • Donna L. Sadd February 1, 2013 at 7:58 am #

      You bring up a very good point Sugar. The ASPCA states, “An occasional low dose, such as what might be found in pet foods or treats, likely will not cause a problem, but we recommend that you do NOT give your pets large quantities of these foods.” I’ve changed the ingredient to ‘stock,’ and appreciate your commenting. :0)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fab Vintage Suitcase Dog Cat Pet Bed- D.I.Y. Project « Donna L Sadd - April 27, 2012

    […] For another fun pet D.I.Y. project, check out my post “HEALTHY DOG BISCUITS AND BONES YOU BAKE AT HOME! – PET D.I.Y. PROJECT.” […]

  2. Small Dog Bone Cookie Cutter - May 9, 2012

    […] HEALTHY DOG BISCUITS AND BONES YOU BAKE AT HOME … Cut out the dog biscuits using small bone-shaped cookie cutter, or any cookie cutter really. (Hint-Coat the cutter with non-stick cooking spray. This will eliminate a dough sticking nightmare!) Gather up the scraps, roll out again . […]

  3. Ten Most Popular Pets | OFTENDRUNK.COM - June 9, 2012

    […] Healthy Dog Biscuits and Bones You Bake at Home! – Pet D.i.y. Project […]

Leave a Reply

