#BlogFlash2013- Day 12- Music

18 Mar

DAY 12 – MUSIC

3-18-2013 BLOGFLASH-DAY 11-MUSIC

Last week, Terri Giuliano Long posed a question: Would you travel through time if you knew it would be impossible to go back? I realized that we already have a time machine that allows for travel without the dire consequences – MUSIC.

In hearing certain melodies, music quickly transports us to places and times in our lives. Being pushed in a swing by your dad, first love, heart breaks, fun times…close your eyes; think of a song, and you will be transported.

As writers, music can inspire us and lead us into the future with new ideas for stories to be written.

Unlike scary, Sci-Fi weirdness, this time machine doesn’t leave us where we land. When the music ends, we’re right back in the present!

Related articles-

Carlie M A Cullen

Dawn Hart- Day 11- Running

15 Responses to “#BlogFlash2013- Day 12- Music”

  1. Gerri Bowen March 18, 2013 at 10:53 am #

    So very true, Donna! Music is a great inspiration for me.

    • Donna L. Sadd March 18, 2013 at 12:45 pm #

      I usually like it quiet, but a writer friend pointed out that it’s good for character development…to ask what does he/she listen to, and I thought it to be a good idea.

      As always Gerri, thank for popping in! :0)

  2. Carlie M A Cullen March 18, 2013 at 11:48 am #

    I’ve never thought of music as being a time machine – but you’re right! Clever!!! As for music being an inspiration – absolutely!! Nicely done! 🙂

    • Donna L. Sadd March 18, 2013 at 12:47 pm #

      Thanks Carlie. I enjoyed your post too; though it was extremely risque to read at 4:30 a.m….It sure as heck woke me up! :0)

  3. Miss_Biggun March 18, 2013 at 1:13 pm #

    Brilliantly written, it only takes the first few notes of a song and I’m instantly transported back in time and o memories I’ve not thought about for a while 🙂

    • Donna L. Sadd March 18, 2013 at 2:19 pm #

      It’s funny Dawn, over the weekend I heard Sinatra’s Fly Me to The Moon, and I was back on a swing with my dad pushing me…it was really the first song I could sing by-heart and I couldn’t have been more than 4-years old! That’s what prompted this piece. thanks for popping in!

  4. Mervi (tasselflower) March 18, 2013 at 2:09 pm #

    Music does inspire so much. It also helps to block other noises and such when I try to concentrate on something.

    • Donna L. Sadd March 18, 2013 at 2:20 pm #

      Yep, it sure does Mervi. :0)

  5. shacklefordlb March 18, 2013 at 4:11 pm #

    Donna, that’s brilliant! Love your time machine. Abba’s ‘Dancing Queen’ takes me back ….

    • Donna L. Sadd March 18, 2013 at 4:19 pm #

      Anything ABBA takes me back to great times Lesley!

  6. Aria Glazki March 18, 2013 at 7:57 pm #

    So true how hearing a melody can transport us to a moment or a feeling! I think it works much better for memories than scents as many people say…

    • Donna L. Sadd March 18, 2013 at 8:05 pm #

      I agree, that is until a wafting breeze of some concoction whizzes me back somewhere in time. :0)

    • Aria Glazki March 18, 2013 at 8:09 pm #

      Maybe I’m just strange then, haha – aromas do not affect me like that.

  7. Terri Giuliano Long (@tglong) March 27, 2013 at 10:23 pm #

    That’s a brilliant point, Donna, and a great connection that I totally overlooked! Yes, it’s definitely a form of time-machine!

    • Donna L. Sadd March 28, 2013 at 6:42 am #

      Thanks Terri! Yes, it hit me like a ton of bricks when I thought about the prompt and what we all had discussed. You inspired me! :0)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.