Prompt 1 – 100 Days of Summer Writing Challenge

27 May

It’s Memorial Day, and the kick-off to writing challenge 100 Days of Summer. I’m not sure yet as to whether this challenge will make for daily blog posts, but when a prompt is suitable, I’ll post it.

Feel free to write along, and if you’re really ballsy, post it in the comments section. :0) Here goes….

Prompt 1: Start a scene where your protagonist celebrates a moment of glory or suffers through a public embarrassment.  Try showing this moment rather than telling what happened.

image- parentdish.co.uk

image- parentdish.co.uk

            “Mrs. Ullo, Mrs. Ullo!” cried Donna, waving her hand frantically at the back of the class line.
            “Class, you will have to all line up, and stop talking if you want to be dismissed,” said the teacher.
            “But Mrs. Ullo, I’ve got to go!” cried Donna once again.
            “Quiet down, Donna,” snapped Mrs. Ullo. 
            Minutes ticked by, and seconds dragged on as Donna obeyed her teacher, remaining in line bouncing up and down with her legs crossed.
            “Okay class, you can all go home,” said the teacher.
            Suddenly, like a string of dominoes, each child in line turned to see Donna standing in a puddle.
            “Donna wet her pants,” laughed one kid.
            “Donna’s a baby,” giggled another. They all laughed and pointed at her as they filed out of the room, leaving her crying alone.
            “Oh my, what happened?” asked a surprised Mrs. Ullo.
            “I asked to go, but I just couldn’t hold it any more.”

Sorry to start off with a bit of a disgusting response to the prompt, but when I think of a public embarrassment, my mind instantly lands on an actual experience I had in the third grade, when my teacher wouldn’t let me leave the room to go to the lavatory.

It was the most embarrassing moment of my life, but it also was a turning point. I vowed never to be obedient to a fault again.

11 Responses to “Prompt 1 – 100 Days of Summer Writing Challenge”

  1. Gerri Bowen May 27, 2013 at 3:10 pm #

    A good lesson learned, but…how awful for you.

    • Donna L. Sadd May 27, 2013 at 3:30 pm #

      I can recall it as if it were yesterday, Gerri, but it was indeed a great lesson. Have a nice Memorial Day. :0)

  2. Lana Voynich May 27, 2013 at 4:34 pm #

    Oh my. How awful!

    But I agree, obedience can be a fault. At least that’s my excuse for seldom listening to anyone. Great job with the prompt!

    • Donna L. Sadd May 27, 2013 at 6:23 pm #

      Thanks for popping in Lana; it’s nice to meet you. :0)

  3. Sue Black May 27, 2013 at 7:45 pm #

    Ha!! Isn’t that just the way it goes?
    Nice job ‘showing’ us with dialogue.

    • Donna L. Sadd May 27, 2013 at 9:26 pm #

      Thanks for popping in, Sue. I just left your site, and my heart’s still beating out of my chest. I remember a time or two like that, all too well. :0)

  4. fuonlyknew May 28, 2013 at 8:16 am #

    I had something similar happen to me. It’s still very fresh in my mind.
    Looking forward to more prompts:)

    • Donna L. Sadd May 28, 2013 at 10:53 am #

      Too bad, Laura; it’s a horrible experience. Happy to see ya! :0)

  5. sherry fundin May 28, 2013 at 11:39 am #

    Unfortunately, I too can relate. I was a rebel, sometimes not taking my nap in kindergarten, but I was also a member of the herd, doing what was told. I like to think I travel my own path at this point in my life. I look forward to more prompts.

    • Donna L. Sadd May 28, 2013 at 12:12 pm #

      Hiya, Gal! OMG, I was very well-behaved, but not at nap-time in kindergarten. My mother made me take naps till I was 6, and there was no way that I was taking TWO!

      This challenge looks like it will be tough (working prompt #2 now), DUH; I guess that’s why it’s a challenge. :0)

    • sherry fundin May 28, 2013 at 6:53 pm #

      I will be on the lookout for more. ^_^

Leave a Reply

